Lens focal length distribution in Guilin - Part 7

in #photomag5 years ago

Today I will show some street photos taken in the greater Guilin area.

_XT23091_XGA.jpg
Photo taken with a 35m focal length

Unsurprisingly, the 35mm format is my most used focal length with the 23mm (X100F) the second most popular focal length.

apcs distribution.png

For those of you who did not read my previous articles in this series, I am using the Fujifilm camera ecosystem which uses an APC size sensor giving a 1.5 magnification field of view in 35mm full-frame format.

Here is a chart to show the equivalent field-of-view distribution in 35mm terms.

35mm fov distribution.png

When walking in the streets of a village, I will normally only take my Fujifilm X100F camera with me. It is small, unobtrusive, and most of the time people do not even realise I am photographing them.

_JOH9884_XGA.jpg
Photo taken with a 23m focal length on the Fujifilm X100F

When walking purposeful, I do sometimes prefer the X-T3, especially for its far superior autofocus. I normally will also use the 35mm focal length, with the 50mm lens in my pocket as a backup. This makes the success rate for grab shots like this one below, much higher than with the X100F.

_XT23077_XGA.jpg
A quick, out-of-the-hip photo with the X-T3 and 35mm focal length lens

The wider angle photos in this distribution may not really qualify as street photos as the emphasis are actually on the environment with the people just completing the scene.

_DSF8311_XGA.jpg
Sunset in Yangshuo. Photo taken with a 20mm focal length.

After dinner one evening in Guilin City, I noticed quite a bit of activity across the river. It is for these situations that I carry the 50mm lens in my pocket, just to get that little bit extra reach.

_DSF8235_XGA.jpg
Photo taken with 50mm focal length

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01