What are your summer memories?

in #photos5 years ago

I was out back doing some chores, and I noticed how nice it was. It is a hot day here, but I was underneath a nice canopy of tree bracnhes in some deep shade, and there is a steady north breeze. Very pleasant indeed!

It got me to thinking about how nice summer is in general, and brought back some memories.

What are your favorite summer memories?

I have a LOT of them LOL.

Late summer football practice, hot and dry-mouthed, bruised as hell, but feeling good for beating all that (and getting sacks in scrimmage!)

As a teenager, playing D&D, taking a break to go outside from an overly airconditioned house to the outdoors, and fell a balmy breeze and get a good sniff of the trees from the greenbelt (cough cough, undeveloped creek bed ;>). Those all night sessions almost every night in the summer.

This one is funny; catching a breeze off the pool, which took me back to being a security guard a few years ago, and taking in the waft of chlorine, which brought up memories of lounging out by the pool when I was a Marine, which reminded me that I had memories from THEN of playing in the pool as a kid LOL. It is funny how nostalgia works!

As a kid, making whirlpools in the pool: all us kids would walk the perimeter of the oval pool, getting faster and faster until we created a current. Then we would chill out and ride the current around until it died down...when we would start all over. We even got to the point where the grownups would ask us to make the whirlpool so they could get in their floats and drink beer ROFL

After work get togethers, walking down 6th Street with a good buzz on inside you and the heat of the early evening working on you from the outside.

Disneyland and Six Flags (Dallas) with my cousins

College summer session; the campus wasn't quite deserted, but it wasn't as hectic as the fall or Spring semesters, and the professors weren't as serious. It seems like my summer classes were always funner than the others.

Going out to the lake as a kid

002c.jpg

003b.jpg

Family vacations; this was New Orleans (or maybe the Riverwalk in San Antonio). Take heed...this is probably the only picture you will see me sad with a BAR sign in the pic!

004a.jpg

This was out in Fredricksburg, Texas, at the Admiral Nimitz Museum...or maybe this was the at the Battleship Texas. To tell you the truth. we haven't really kept a good track of our digital album ;>

img028 (3).jpg

We liked the lake so much my Dad bought a boat! I'm in the yellow lifevest

1976-11.jpg

1976-9.JPG

But most of all, hanging out with my cousins! We used to have all sorts of fun and trouble! This was us before we discovered beer (minor lie...we would steal beer from the adults, and they would laugh at each other for drinking too much of it, not realizing where it was really going ;>)

nisc20.jpg

Sort:  

Why do you want me to bring up so much pain?

i hope you have a wonderful day.

damn, switch to spring memories immediately!

Not many people in my country had cameras back then so I have few pictures of my childhood... I don't have more than two photos from the beach as a kid, as far as I remember...

Americans have had a fascination with cameras for a long time. We might make fun of the Japanese for it (or used to, idk if that is still a meme), but you rarely see an American on vacation w/o camera in hand

or these days, ANYWHERE w/o smartphone in hands ;>

Steve! How far are you from New Orleans???? Saw news of the hurricane that it will affect Houston too. Stay dry and safe!

I am a long ways away fro New Orleans. I'm in the middle of Texas, which is a big state ;>

@stevescoins You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hi, @stevescoins!

You just got a 0.44% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66