Icicles, testing out the new Lens

in #phototalent5 years ago

Icicles, testing out the new lens

As you may have read on my Market Friday post yesterday I got a new lens this week and got to try it out today.

Now I am not totally happy with the shots I got with it today, and debated with myself about sharing them, but in the end I know some are expecting to see some shots with it so here goes.

1 Icicles and testing out the new lens-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F10 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This is perhaps my favorite shot of the group with the blue sky in the background, there is actually some trees in the background but with the tight focus on this lens with these settings and the icicle being so close to me they are mostly blurred out, and I almost but not quite caught the drop falling
Now I was going to stay in this position and try to catch a drop falling but, when icicles are dripping down on the ground, and the ground is pretty cool, the drops when they land on the ground turn to ice pretty quickly, which I discovered when I moved my foot a little and it slid across the ice, not bad and I didn't fall, but I thought it made good sense to try from another angle

1 Icicles and testing out the new lens.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F4,5 1/1000 Sec ISO 100
[Click here to view larger](()



In this position the background was a house, and it still was a bit slippery underfoot but I tried a few more shots with different settings, in the hope to get shots I liked and catch a drop as it was falling, which I missed again in this shot, I was using continuos shooting, but the drop fell right out of shot by the next shot.

1 Icicles and testing out the new lens-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F4.5 1/100 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



Again I missed the drop but I like how with this shot and edit the icicle kind sof looks like molten silver to me

1 Icicles and testing out the new lens-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F10 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Another similar shot

1 Icicles and testing out the new lens-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F4.5 1/1250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And finally, I did get a shot where I got the falling drop in the photo all be it out of focus,

These are all actually off the gutter of our condo, I did walk around our complex a little and get some more shots but those will be for another post, Even though I am not totally happy with these shots I am happy with this lens and did walk around the complex getting some more shots and playing with it, I do love the lens and will be sharing more macro shots in future posts now and again


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.222014 lat -73.057572 long Downtown Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

Sweet! You got your new lens! I am lovin’ these shots! I agree that they look like mercury, especially the one with the drop (which is my favorite)! Wow these are so detailed and clear! I’m glad you are happy with the lens! I look forward to seeing more shots with it! That fourth one is pretty amazing too!

Thanks I know I can do better with it but nit to bad for first try with it
Have a great week 😎👍😎

It definitely wasn’t a bad first try at all! You have a great week as well ;)

I will do my bets the sun is shining and it snot so cold as last week so it’s starting great for me

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow last photograph is awesome my friend..
Beautiful post..

Thanks mate I had fun trying it out :)

These are freakin great!

I'm having some gear envy right now :)

Thanks Mate I am sure I am going to love this lens based on first shots with it, I would have walked and got more shots but with the snow melting and then the water freezing there was just to much black ice around the place, would hate to slip and damage my new lens LOL

Wow,, how could be like that ?? Its very amazing sir. Top markotop we say in indonesian language. Its means very excellent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks thats so kind of you to say :)

Nice! Liquid silver was the same thought I had looking at these images.

I did wonder if that was just my eyes seeing weird things in these, thanks for letting me know you saw the same

Thanks It was fun trying out the new lens :)

Wow! Congratulations for having the new lens! Looking forward to great images ... Happy Sunday!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks from first use of it I love it, need to play with it some more but I am sure I will have a lot of fun with it

aww my my Ice is bonus THEN you add cool fab new lens, slam dunk !! woohoo i so like the blue you added, nice job Mr kiwi ♪♫•.•°°•.¸¸. ♡ ℒℴve ♡ .•°° ♪♫•¨•

Thanks :) I wish I could have got more shots with the sky as a background for the blues, but it was just to slipery in the spot to get that angle

:D your most welcome hun :D Yeah i know what your talking about, so we need to invent one of them; -move a object to a backdrop WE would like; kind of a gadget ;) :D

I know I could have done that in photoshop, But I try to leave backgrounds as they were when I shot, but with these there was really no reason not to LOL

Hi sweety🐉🐲💗 Yes we do have photoshop buuuuut you know me, im not a fan ;) LOL
I find backdrops to be the hardest while grabbing my pix...
I agree, there was noo reson to edit this set of yours :) em are sooo cool🐉🐲💗

Hi :)
Yes I do use photoshop a lot, but I very rarely if ever change the backgrounds or edit things out of shots as I like to share what I actually see not what I wish I had seen :)

I second that, its a honest picture if you dont dabble with editing away ;)
I do neeeed to go to a ps editing class, i wounder what i would have gotten IF i hade edited? ...

I learnt my editing from reading online never made time to do a class, I probably should I am sure there is so much more I could do than the small amount I know so far LOL

This lens was worth waiting for, @tattoodjay, great photos.
I also like the first picture best, because you can see it's an icicle, but the others are extraordinarily beautiful, like liquid metal. Congratulations to this lens, which would be worthless without the good photographer you are 📷👍😊

Ohh yes I do believe it was worth the wait, I love it and looking forward to learning how to get the best out of it :)

I was wondering if it was just my warped mind seeing the liquid metal and am glad you and others also saw that

Yes, your mind is alright and your eyes are OK ;)
Hope to see more macros, maybe some spring flowers soon...

Well it is debatable if my mind is right but thanks and yes I am so looking forward to spring and the new lens

I just wanted to be nice in public LOL

LOl I can understand that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45