You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Theory of Everything: Introduction to String Theory (FOR BEGINNERS!) - Part 2/2

in #physics6 years ago (edited)

Great article(s). Maybe the answer is the concept of gravity doesn't actually exist. I mean when I think of a "spinning" anything, I don't understand how anything else would "stick" to it. Everything would be "spun" off of said spinning object. Gravity is so strong that it holds celestial bodies in "orbit", yet I can jump at least 3 feet off of the ground and birds and insects regularly defy this powerful force.

Maybe this mysterious force experienced here is just a matter of density and magnetism? I really have no idea, just throwing some thoughts out there.

Sort:  

Thank you @agcrypt for your query. I agree with your comment to some extent; but you must realise that it is not just the spinning that causes a centripetal force (the force acting towards the centre = gravity), but mass also plays a huge part. For a light object to have the same gravity as a much heavier object, it must be spinning much quicker. The Earth is huge and extremely heavy. Hopefully this helps you out in some way or another!

Yeah, I get what you are saying. This is the stuff we've been spoon fed our entire lives. Since gravity is only a theory and there is zero proof that it actually exists, I just think that it should be re-examined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72