Sort:  

Thank you @viking-ventures!

I have visited Iceland

Oh, I am a bit jealous right now :D

and love farming

I also love farming... in theory though :D I have never really looked after anything bigger than a flower pot :D But my husband and I just bought a spot to build a house and yey, we will finally have our own garden :) I have so many plans for it :D :D :D

When I discovered one year that Iceland Air was the cheapest (or second cheapest) route between London and Minneapolis - and that a layover was FREE as long as it was at least three nights - I decided to have us do that stopover. AMAZING!!! My only regret is that I should have done it on the way out rather than the way back (jet-lag) as it cost me seeing the northern lights. Anyway, I highly recommend it!

I can't wait to see your pictures as you develop your garden then! I haven't been able to do the whole shebang for a long, long time, but I keep hoping we'll have that bit of land I can farm on again...

but I keep hoping we'll have that bit of land I can farm on again...

I hope you do! Being close to land and nature makes incredible things to the human mind and body!

I am not sure if I am going to share our gardening experience. I was actually thinking of doing some homesteading posts but we will see :) I try to stick to my blogs' theme but sometimes I am really tempted to write about other things :)

You know, one of the beauties of steem is that you don't have to stick to a niche. That was the thing that kept me from being a successful blogger before - and it's the thing that makes this platform work for so many.

During the typical week, I have many book posts, but I also have posts about: photography, art, contests, genealogy, whatever I feel like doing at the time.

Thanks for sharing your experience, @viking-ventures! :) I appreciate it. Like I wrote to @roleerob I had a particular idea of having a psychology blog. However, maybe I should let my Steemit blog to be in a Steemian way :D We will see :)

Nice job winning a prize this week!

"I try to stick to my blogs' theme but sometimes I am really tempted to write about other things :)"

My advice / encouragement @insight-out? Take a "walk on the wild side" and write about whatever is on your heart! 😊 ...

Seriously, you'll then find out, rather quickly (at least that is my experience), what other Steemians value, although I believe even that is somewhat misleading ...

All depends on the purpose of the writing, I think. While I value "being paid" for writing, of course, I also find some sort of therapeutic value in simply having written some posts, no matter what value the Steem blockchain may place on them ...

Oh, I won a prize :D Yey :)

Well, it's all about priorities. I came on Steemit with the intent to make a psychology blog because I was going to make it anyway in my native language... But writing in English was a challenge and I decided to give it a go and translate the articles in Bulgarian later. So far, I haven't translated a thing and my Bulgarian blog doesn't exist. I put myself a deadline to create it till June 2019. However, writing about other topics is a distraction from my initial goal and will take valuable time away. On the other hand, my Steemit blog starts to live its own life and I am tempted to start "distracting" myself on other topics. Maybe I should give it a go and see where is it all heading :) I don't know yet :)

Thanks for your encouragement! :)

Certainly understandable @insight-out. I appreciate the narrower focus and your desire to keep time "in here" limited due to other priorities.

In time, we'll find out what you have deemed best! Just don't leave ... 😉

BTW, I think your English is very good. I don't know to what you would attribute this, but thought I would mention it.

Posted using Partiko Android

BTW, I think your English is very good. I don't know to what you would attribute this, but thought I would mention it.

Oh, thank you so much for saying this. A year ago I would think that an English blog is just a "mission impossible". It's funny how sometimes we are completely unaware of what we are capable of doing and we limit ourselves.

English has become a universal language. If you want to be part of the world, you need to know it. Otherwise, you will be left out :) I have been studying it since childhood but I have much more to learn :) I guess when you are a foreigner you can never truly master a language especially if you have never lived in the countries where it is natively spoken :)

Oh, you are very welcome @insight-out. You have an interesting perspective and I suppose I have not really spent much time thinking about English as a "universal language." Perhaps from the days of "the sun never sets on the British Empire" ... 😉

Years ago, I worked for a British firm and had the privilege as an "up and comer" to make some international trips. In more than one of them to our "headquarters" in the north of England, we would have representatives from a number of former "colonies." Listening to my associates from England (all of the "local" dialects - Welsh, Irish, Scottish ...), Australian, Canadian, South Africa ... it was amazing to hear them express their thoughts.

We all spoke "English," but I remember thinking ... "Wow! I think I know what you just said, but I never would've used those words to say that ..." 😉 The best part was sitting on the sidelines and watching the Aussies and the Brits "have a go" at each other ...

"I guess when you are a foreigner you can never truly master a language especially if you have never lived in the countries where it is natively spoken :)"

Yes, I'm sure you are right. I had three years each, of classes in school, for German and Spanish. Sadly, if my life depended on it, I would never be able to hold any sort of conversation in either ... I think probably "immersive teaching" is the best, from those to whom I have spoken and feel confident they can actually successfully communicate in another language ...

Е, по-добре избягайте за сега. Надявам се това да ви намери и твоя прави добре!


P.S. Google Translate ... 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81