Pinball Year in Review - Goals Met?

in #pinball6 years ago (edited)

It's Good To Have Goals

On January 18th of 2017 I set 5 pinball goals for myself.

Goals.png

I am pleased to say I hit 3 of my 5 goals. Here's the breakdown:

Host 2 Tournaments

This is a miss. I am most upset by this, because I set the goal quite low, but it wasn't meant to be. I tried hosting a unique format tournament that was both complicated and simple. It needed player commitment ahead of time, because the format required that the total number of participants be a multiple of 4. Basically, it would have been randomized groups playing a series of 3 games. The winner of the first game (4 player game) would receive 7 points and sit out the second and third games. The winner of the second game (3 player game) would receive 4 points and sit out the third game. The winner of the third game (2 player game) would receive 2 points. The loser of the third game would get 1 point.

The reception for the format was lukewarm, and I had to cancel it. For 2018 this goal must remain and it must be met!

Qualify for the Pennsylvania State Championship by finishing in the top 16

Success!

PA Top 16.png

It wasn't easy. I tried to play pinball every week. I didn't win a single event in 2017 (6 or 7 second place finishes). But I finished in the top 16 in Pennsylvania and I have a slot in the State Championships. I look forward to this event, because it is a single elimination, best of 7 head to head bracket. Once everyone confirms their attendance the bracket will go online and I will make sure to put a post out when it does. I will also be covering the Championship, so you can look forward to that as well. Interviews and Pictures galore! Maybe I'll shoot for the top 4 next year.

Qualify for something at PAPA

Nope. Not even close. PAPA is hard. PAPA is short for Professional and Amateur Pinball Association, but I use it here to refer to the PAPA World Championships. Held once a year - the Championships are held across 4 days: Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday - 9 AM through until midnight or later every day. Congrats to all of these fine players, they won their divisions and the hardware that goes with it:

PAPA.png

Of course this will return as a goal next year. I only hope PAPA will happen at a time and place that I am free to attend it. Right now, everything is up in the air, because the venue that hosted the event for over a decade has been sold, and PAPA is without a home.

Make A in Pinburgh

Boooooooom! I put this one on the list as a throwaway, but it happened. I still can't believe it. This is the other World Championship held in Pittsburgh - the Match-Play Championship. I still don't know how it happened, but I navigated the nearly 800 player field and found myself in the top 40 after 10 rounds - which meant I had a spot in the A finals! (I even survived a round in the finals, before falling in a group of sharks) Here is the coverage of the Final 8 which was broadcast live from the event (horrible things happen from the five minute mark to the six minute mark - skip it):

Congratulations to everyone in the top 8! Huge props to Colin on winning his first major (of many?). The loss was another heartbreaker for Josh Sharpe, who finished second in a major yet again. Some say he is the best player never to win, but I just think he is one of the best players ever. Some day, Josh. Some day. I think I'll keep this on the list as well.

Play Something Outside the Pittsburgh Area

YAY! I am very proud to say I did this X2! More than once! Twice baby! Double boooooooom!

Superelectric.png

So that one was in Cleveland. And my other event was an unrated match play tournament a little over an hour from me at a place called Pinball Amusements. Thanks Shannon! There is something special about travelling to play in a pinball tournament. I highly recommend that you try it. This goal stays as well.

Goals are Important

Goals are important, because they can push us to achieve something we might feel is out of reach. Like my Pinburgh goal. I didn't feel like I was setting a realistic goal, but it was one that I wanted to accomplish. So I wrote it down. And published it. And by the end of the tenth round - I had done it! I was qualified in A. Write your goals down and see what you can do!

Until next time, this is Boooooooom News, signing off.

Sort:  

How cool is it that you reached most of your goals?! Well done to you.

Found this post from @shadowspub and her #pypt xx

Thank you! I reached a super stretch goal, which made me quite happy. Thanks for listening to me.

5 hour tournament!!! Holy mother

That was just the final 8. The qualification period was 22 hours and the finals lasted something like 11? Maybe longer? It was fantastic fun. And hard on the body and mind :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pinball-players to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63