Towelman - Pixelart, a fictional Superhero!

in #pixelart6 years ago

Shadow - Finished x2.png

“Man at night comes out to defeat Villa-Towel villains with his wet towel!”

- David.


simple Banner.png

April Comeback - Back in Action!

Shadow - Finished Gif.gif

I took almost an entire month off the Steem platform to focus on college stuff. Just to come back one Monday and noticing that the Pixel-Art Weekly Contest was just starting! And this time with a really interesting theme, Shadows.

Now that I'm back on board I can resume weekly posting, I need to finish the showcase post about the new cover art I uploaded to my account last month, and also to finish the new banner art I promised on Easter holidays.

simple Banner.png

Artwork - The Building was a Total Mess!


ShadowProcess.gif

Last week I watched a series of videos about the process of a game developer competing on a 3 day game-jam contest, in which he explained how just taking a walk outside helped him in dropping the pressure down and thinking about solutions to the multiple problems that normally arise in that particular area.

Then it comes this building, oh man, I couldn't just get it right. Even after trying multiple wall designs, recolors and going through multiple events of pure frustration I would just leave it blank, go out, watch a wall or two then come back and try again. It worked! Not because of a wall I saw, but of being disappointed in not finding what I wanted and going through google searches, then finding excellent reference material to draw from.



How could I forgot to look for reference?! Reference is important! Serves especially as inspiration and also to help you out when you're stuck on drawing something, from what else you can guide yourself than from reference from real life materials?

Showcase - Dithering.png

I usually leave dithering until I'm absolutely done with image concepts, colors and details. But mid-way in doing the image, I started to dither the moon, then I couldn't just stop, then I dithered everything, then I was committed! There was no going back without deleting all that precious pixel-placing time, but It ended looking good, good enough for me to be happy with the results.

Showcase - cape.png

(Sprites from the cape/towel)

simple Banner.png

Thanks for Watching!


Shadow - Finished Gif.gif

Special Thanks to:

  • My friends and family for their feedback.
  • That random youtuber that explained his little advice to overcome work process problems.
  • DawnBringer for his excelent 32 Color Palette.

You can find my other works on my tumblr account, here

Sort:  

Firstly, I would love to commend the originality of this content. It's so hard to find Pixel Artists nowadays. I can totally relate to the struggle which is usually been faced in developing something that stands out.

I also appreciate your thoughtflow in this part,

"Then it comes this building, oh man, I couldn't just get it right. Even after trying multiple wall designs, recolors and going through multiple events of pure frustration I would just leave it blank, go out, watch a wall or two then come back and try again. It worked! Not because of a wall I saw, but of being disappointed in not finding what I wanted and going through google searches, then finding excellent reference material to draw from."

I think you make both a great writer and Artist.

Thank you for your support!

Lovely work! Sometimes less is more, well done with the bricks ^^ you have an interesting dithering style, it's nice to see variety. :D

Thank you so much!
Oh the bricks, I had an idea on how to draw them but for some reason its implementation was a pain.
I'm still trying to get used to dithering, usually I end up using it too much and sometimes it looks messy. I'll get it right with more practice.

I use very little dither, but it's personal preference ^^

Nice design bro.......
Give me up-vote please, @ohimahathir

chamo $134.87! :D que fino! que derecho nada jajaja

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64