Windmill Panorama - Exploring old Ideas

in #pixelart6 years ago (edited)




Happy (really late) mother’s day!
Today I’ll bring you something 0% related to the actual thing, a windmill.




Giving Life to Old Ideas!

I sketched this in class last month; it’s inspired by a Ink art video that I saw on Youtube a really long time ago. For the final art I didn’t fully follow the sketch, there are some obvious changes on it but I can always practice by doing a new one that keeps up with the original idea.



I’ve had this idea for a couple of years now, a windmill with plains in the background. I’m happy to have picked this up and making something out of it, I’ll get back to this one day and draw it the way I wanted it.



About the Artwork

Last week Pixelart weekly contest was about Spring.

To draw a colorful background and making a windmill out of a sunflower, both were good excuses to practice around with Aseprite.

From browsing sprites from the Settlers and Stronghold Crusader games I found out how they actually animate windmills and got inspired to do them myself. The idea here is to only animate just enough frames for one slice of the turn, but to make it look like every “unit” is making a full rotation. Let me show you this principle more graphically:

  • The Base:
(This is the basic “plain-simple” version of the windmill sprite) Starting with just the base color, rotate the units making little tweaks here and there so they can all align properly. It won’t come up smooth at first so prioritize shapes and leave details last, you won’t get overwhelmed if you work with just big chunks of blank colors.


  • Shaping the Simulation:

Look at the red indicator; one unit shapes itself into the next one. You have to work out every unit of the windmill and modify them as they occupy the next spot of the rotation.



  • How Little you Actually Need:

While working around every unit of the windmill, you’ll notice how each of them starts to make a full rotation. Once the illusion is complete, copy and paste them as many times as needed.
It took me some hours to finish the entire sprite and it only had 6 frames! Yes, only 6 were enough for making this simple sprite animation, the fewer frames, the less time you have to spend making it look smooth.





Now, about these guys, you can’t just have a world and not draw little guys to populate them. I’m planning on bringing them around for a while as I noticed that their simple outline and plain white siluette works great against heavy colored backgrounds.

Thanks for Watching!



End Notes:
I noticed while I was writing this article that I put painted too much detail to those flowers at the coastline, it also looks messy with those stray pixels around. Oh well, there will be always room for improvement and as long as I keep up the practice I’ll get those problems sorted out.

Special Thanks to:

  • My friends and family for their feedback.
  • DawnBringer for his excelent 32 Color Palette.




You can find my other works on my tumblr account, here!

Sort:  

chamo que bonito :D

Heyy how are you?
I'm trying to grow my account and I'd like to borrow or rent your SP while you're away :)
I hope you post again soon!

Thanks for caring.
I've seen your efforts in growing your own community, and I would be glad to help you in anyway. However, I lack knowledge of the delegation system and I just dont want to mess around with it and anything SP related. On a more positive note I'm finally free again to continue posting and resume stimit activities, so im preparing a couple of stuff.
I wanted to ask you something, do you still need a new image header for your "random games" series?

Sweet!!! So glad you're back ^-^ Looking forward to your next post!!

Sorry I'm not sure if I should change the cover now, as people recognize it and click it now. That's why I held the cover art contest during week 2
However, I can ask everyone participating what they think, if they want a new cover? :)

I will be holding more art contests so don't worry haha :D

You're right, especially if you're growing a community, that art should be kept stable for long time. Alright, so I think I'll finish what I'm doing and post it as a free promotion for your community. So I hope you keep the games running!

Well if you plan to make it anyways I certainly can ask if everyone wants it, once they see it ^^
If they choose it as official art, I'll send you the promised reward.
Send me a link once you're done so I don't miss it and can resteem it ^^
I will definitely keep the games going, I have many ideas lined up already :D

Congratulations @arepazo! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @arepazo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78