Pixel Artist goes on a Race! Gran Turismo, Mini Cooper S'02

in #pixelartweekly6 years ago (edited)

Mini C - smallx2.png


The Game



One of my all time favorite console games is Gran Turismo, a car racing simulator for PlayStation. GT2 was the first one I played back when I was a child, GT4 being the latest. One of the races I'm always up for are endurance races and Mini Cooper events!

In GT4 they gift you a Mini Cooper model S'02 and here you can see some screenshots of it in a test drive:

IMG0002.JPG
IMG0000 (2).JPG

Screenshots taken with the in-game replay feature and taken out of the PlayStation via USB drive (I was surprised to see that the PS2 had USB port).

I really would love to know if there is a PC game that shares the same feel of progression that the career mode of GT has.


The Art

Mini C - 01.pngMini C - x1.png

Now, about the drawing. Reference material being the in-game screenshots and some google searches of the S'02 model. I tried to stick as close to the actual car as possible.


  As for the racing track, I went for the usual asphalt plus red/white kerb curves that GT city racetracks have, and a mountain as background.

(I always forget to periodically take "progress" photos when I'm drawing so that's why there are some big jumps on details)



In this part I actually had to step away from my comfort zone. I really despise having to use colors outside from the palette, the limitation is both an excellent way to practice technique and a to establish style. But to do the windscreen effect that I wanted, a layer had to be made transparent and by doing that, new colors were added to the mix indirectly. It's alright, once the rule was broken, I couldn't help it to just add one (or two... or three) more color to it.


Mini C - x2.png

Thanks for watching!


Special Thanks to:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70