Plagiarism and immutable blockchain don't mix

in #plagiarism7 years ago

I've not been a Steemian in any meaningful sense for more than a handful of weeks but in that time I've noticed the way a significant subset of bloggers operate. 


On the one hand the approach is economical both of time and effort and oftentimes seems to be pretty lucrative too but it is dishonest. I'm talking about the huge amount of copypaste jobs  around here. Work that is misattributed or just goes uncredited, now is it always essential to attribute everything? Probably not; I mean 'nothing is new under the sun' right? Yes I'm not going to look up exactly where Shakespeare wrote that. But when work is comprehensively misrepresented as the poster's own this really Grinds My Gears.* (*Family Guy - some episode or other.. Ok so that one was unnecessary too) 

But this seems to happen pretty often  - video, photos and written work too and whilst for now even the most super-mega-ultra whales of Steemit are really minnows in the world beyond this site that won't last for long. Not with a product as great as this place is. 

I'd anticipate (on a site built on an unalterable blockchain) a lot of future lawyers making a healthy living off the fruits of their plagiarism checkers round these parts when we are the new Facebook. These law suits would pretty much write themselves after all they are so strightfoward. So those that do this kind of thing (and I don't feel it's my place to name names here) I hope that when the time comes your steem is worth enough to pay your legal bills. I don't expect this will change anyone's behaviour if they are churning out 10s of posts a day and getting paid but whatever I feel better for having said it ☺



Sort:  

Very good observation, but what ya gonna do? As for me, I am going to police myself and be the best I can be. @cheetah has been to visit me once, because I used a long quote from Wikipedia and sourced it as such. There are content police in this community, but not everything is caught.

It is going to be okay my friend, karma is a bitch and every dog has his day.

Have a great week my friend. Stay Steemy.

So true Sargento, as usual - I really wasn't volunteering myself for the Citation Police though! 🚔

But I am really pleased to think that there are folk out there calling people out on this though. I wrote a book chapter once (dull, academic & literally only 2 men and a dog have EVER read it) but it cost me months of my life so I feel plagiarism as theft maybe more acutely than others might I guess.

This appears a problem that may take time to get through, catch one on using others content and the next one enters the door. It appears a fact of life @methusaleh making fresh content becomes an oversight.

easy fix...just mute those who do that.
or...if you've a mind to...flag em.
the reason they are plagiarizing is to make money.
If no one votes for them (except filthy bots) they won't.
I contend that the root problem is not plagiarizers ...it's 'bots.

I think both have their share of blame tbh and yes you are totally right this wouldnt be anything like as big an issue if they weren't getting paid. Maybe i will moan irascibly about bots next 😆

@originalworks

Just want to see if this works when the author does it or if someone else has to post this. Apologies if i am breaking some secret Steemit rule by doing this...!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @methusaleh to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @methusaleh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69155.39
ETH 3757.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67