How to get 17 flags for your trending post.

in #plagiarism8 years ago (edited)

In this article I want to warn all beginners. I don’t try to get forgiveness or show that down-votes is nonobjective from time to time, not in this case. I hope it will exclude the possibility that you can start to hate this place, because of your own mistakes.

Today I’ve got important lesson not about only STEEMIT, but about life too, maybe one of the most important for last year. It was a "painful" lesson. My yesterday article earned 1000$ for 12 hours. If you was on the top of STEEMIT, you understand this feeling: when you wake up and see value that didn't expect. If you wasn’t, believe me it's dizzying . You recognized that STEEMIT it's works, and you are becoming a part of this magical mechanism.

After few hours I’ve saw 17 flags on the article and 12$ of profit it was incredible feeling too :) If in the first case you feel like you're flying, in the second one you're falling down. It happened because one user marked my post like a plagiarism.

I'm calm by nature and rational, I'm used that easy and fast money don't exist. So i forget about my "loss" after few minutes, and had thinking about where am i wrong. It was not hard to put myself in other users place…

Just duplicate my answer in replies of flagged article:

Wow, while i was making a new post i haven't saw all this flags for this article. It's unexpected, but maybe fair in some point. But let me say some words: I don't claim on the full original content here, and don’t deny that I saw this article but on another resource: http://www.pvsm.ru/sport/177060 . and before it i've read original research http://cep.lse.ac.uk/pubs/download/dp1436.pdf (what russian author used too), that research was published more that 1 month ago, and Russian article 1 week ago.
it's hurt to hear about simple plagiarism through translation. I spent about 4 hours on writing this post. Looking for other researches on this theme, and found it only in Russian variant, because it was not easy for me to formulate clear ask in English on google.
I'm certainly grateful to the author (who you pointed out) for the collected material and original text, but anyway i've tried to create post with my own design and more meaning, and with my own minds, and wanted to share by interesting material with steemit community, first of all. Yes I use translator because have not enough knowledge in language, not for stupid convertation. Maybe you are right that it's plagiarism use work of another author like a fundament (like many of us). Maybe I can’t understand difference between my article and others, where users use quotes and fragments from journal articles for example (size 2-3 pages) and add 1 small paragraph of their opinion, and don’t gets any flags. I’ve made an insights from your down-vote. On steemit i can use only experiment and researches of professional scientists like a base for article, and add links on it to avoid negative and accusation. Because it’s enough the one scream about plagiarism in replies to kill my reputation. Thank you.
I don't think that i made something wrong. There is no rule on STEEMIT that content must be full original, there is rule that content must be a usefull and interesting for users (if this article gort so many votes that't mean it was interesting)
But i understantd feelings of other users and I apologize to the readers, who rely on completely original content. I apologize to the authors, who create something really unique, and don't get anything, and every time, when they see article like mine, they are thinking about unfair.

As you see i don't agree that i deserve it, but i've got very useful replay from @doctorstrange, which totally let me recognize and understand how we must to perceive STEEMIT and his participants.

Good for you to own up to this.
Indeed there isn't much by way of rules and best practices, but the will of the users are the final arbiter of what is acceptable or not. Plagiarism is bad policy in general and just because it might be ok for a lot of people and other websites, that doesn't mean the users here have to tolerate it.
I hope that eventually eventually a best practices for content will be discussed and published for all users and especially new users to get an idea of how they should make things.
The last thing I want to see here is people copying others content to profit from it without giving credit to the original source. This isn't kat.cr or piratebay. We can do a good thing here and make it an awesome community or we can be jerks that take others work like selfish children.
It's our choice to make, so where do all of you stand?

I repeat: I don't regret about the money, because it was unfair profit, even without bad intent from my side. I've disappointed that now i'm looks like the scammer, because i didn't think about one simple thing:

STEEMIT it's community. Before to became a full part of it you must learn and understand his rules. And STEEMIT already has a participants, who defend and support it. They are trying to create a right way for it, because they believe in big future of project. And the main rule- be honest as much as you can with community. I've read it before, but understand it only today.

One more thing: before start feel angry on steemit for flags, just think: if many big players flagged you, you have done something wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70979.17
ETH 3849.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48