Please help with identifying this bomber

in #planes6 years ago

4 engines.

Front view

It has tail ends

Tail view

Twin propellers per engine.

props

An angled, not round nose.

nose guns

Massive bomb bays.

bomb bays

What looks like twin cockpits?

cockpit

Sort:  

It’s an Avro Shackleton. Post WW2 Maritime patrol aircraft, the large bomb Bays are to hold anti submarine torpedoes. I love those the counter rotating props.

You know your stuff.

Thanks. I’d love to see one myself.

Great, I have heard of the Shackleton but this was not the first name that came to mind, now I can google to my hearts content.

Are these pics you’ve been sharing from South Africa? Love to know where these beauties are.

This is from one of the airforce museums in SA, Waterkloof, Pretoria

Wow!! Look like giant! Enough to destroy anything!!

This is a Avro Shackleton with RR Griffons engines and contra rotating propellers.The Shackleton was a purpose-built aircraft for the maritime patrol role. The Avro Shackleton was a British long-range patrol aircraft and it was developed by Avro from the Avro Lincoln bomber, which itself has been a development of the famous wartime Avro Lancaster bomber.

At first I thought it was a Lancaster, but the nose and a couple of other things weren't right.

Is this Tupolev Tu-95 ?

Doesn't look like a Tupolev since it has tail ends.

I'm not sure, only guessing. I haven't a good knowledge about aircraft.

It's a plane)) Maybe a military plane)) (stupid joke time)

Thanks for giving the information .really got something from you its my pleasure

Wow very nice let me know the name of this bomber? @ngos

Great shots of earlier aviation planes. Where do you find all of these older model planes? Especially the aerial shots of the ones that are still flying.

Perhaps it can fly?

According to me I saw first time this type of fighter plane really Awesome. Like it. Thanks for sharing. @ngos.

Wow its too big wonderful looking Super hit cockpit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88