Tree Planting and Other...

in #planting6 years ago

Living up here in Northern Ontario, we can experience quite the temperature changes in spring. The weather likes to yo-yo, playing around, which makes the perfect season for bugs.

As some of you know, I have purchased some fruit bearing trees (find the post here). These trees need to be planted within the next few days so that the roots can get a great start before winter. The winters we get can be quite cold so we always have to keep the season in mind even if we just entered spring.

The Planting

Bright sunny day, nice and warm, not a cloud in sight. It became the perfect day to plant the trees. I planned out (with some help) the best way of planting is in a zigzag form.

I got my shovels out, brought my hose and soil closer and decided to start with planting the Siberian Crabapples.

What a great time that was!

It first started with digging into a soil filled with rocks. Nice sized stones that are planted strongly into the ground.

IMG_3304[1].JPG

After some time swearing at the rock my allergies decided to kick in. Everything took a turn for the worse. My nose was leaking, I couldn't stop sneezing and yet I kept on digging which looked more like stabbing. Yes I as stabbing the ground and swearing, passerbys started looking at me funny.

Triumph at last! The first hole was dug.

IMG_3301[1].JPG

I had to adjust a few things like make the hole wider and deeper. With there being so many rocks I had to make room for proper soil.

IMG_3303[1].JPG

The bugs are out at this point and getting really bad. Clouds of black flies mixed with mosquitos and me with my mouth open because I cannot breathe through my nose, the buggers fly right in! Making me gag and cough to almost puking.

Shovel in hand, I try and beat them off as I try and dig my next hole.

Frankie was on playing on the trampoline all this time and I turned to look at her making sure she was good. She was getting down from it and bolted to the house. I called out to her, "Frankie, where you going?" and she replies to me, "NO!" and keeps running. "Hey Frankie! Come back, I'm still outside!" again she says, "No!". "HEY!"

She makes her way up the stairs "No! No! No! No!", opens the door to the sunroom, walks in, shuts the door and stairs at me through the window. She wasn't coming back out.

As I was staring at her, a black fly stabs me in the eye. Oh for fu** sakes. Rubbing out this gross black spot is the last thing I needed.

I hurried to dig the next hole. Frankie was banging on the window, bugs hitting my ears, going up my nose, trying to find a way to breathe.

I stood up, grabbed my next tree then crouched down to plant it. not thinking of my actions, I added more soil, planted the tree. The top part of my butt was starting to burn. Ah man! I forgot to put my belt on, so my pants dropped down as I crouched. I slapped at the flies leaving handprints on my skin because of the soil stuck on my hands.

No pressure! I'm coming frankie! I finish up with that tree, pick everything up and ran to the house.

Frankie was laughing at me, she thought I was pretty funny. Eye swollen from a bug bite and dirt everywhere.

With only 2 trees planted, I was satisfied with what I have gotten done even though I lost the battle of the flies. Now 14 more trees to plant and a few other herbs as well.

I decided I would share with you some of the things I jave going on. I am not a pro gardener so some things look a bit scary.

IMG_3307[1].JPG

So this is the scary looking plant. I killed a few zucchini plants but this one is a survivor. I didn't have time to clean up the dried up leaves. The flower showing determination.

IMG_3308[1].JPG

This one I think is the surviving squash that is doing much better than the zucchini. Go squash!

IMG_3317[1].JPG

The tomatoes are doing great in the greenhouse along with all the other plants. I got quite a few going so that are doing great in there. I will show those ones in another post at some point.

IMG_3182[1].JPG

The flowers are blooming, the lilacs are still in the process of it, giving off a wonderful perfume scent.

IMG_3174[1].JPG

IMG_3324.JPG

This is my medicine/flower garden. The plants here are a mix of flowers purchased and grown with still some seeds that have not yet sprouted. Besides the flowers you see it contains calendula, lavender, chamomile, lemongrass, echinacea, rose bush etc. All the ones I can use for health benefits.

The statue will one day be repainted. I am still wondering how I want to paint this medecine goddess, as for me, white is just too plain. My first idea is to have it white and then paint some black on it as though a black liquid was being poured on. Yes, that is appealing to my dark side :p But I am not the only one that lives here. How would you do it?

Sort:  

Honey Hive Bomb Comment.png Bomb

Thank you ^_^

wow you sure did go to battle on that one. I love the statue. Blue is a healing color maybe a touch of blue.

Oh that is an interesting thought. Colours and what they stand for. Blue for healing in the medicine garden, I'm glad I asked! Thank you!

I dislike bugs so the stress and battle was there. I was like their personal buffet lol. I should have worn my bug suit but with the sun shining and it being so hot I thought they wouldn't come out. Wrong assumption I made.

You have a bug suit? there is a grand opportunity for a joke in that. Sadly I haven't had enough coffee to think of it

Yes I have a bug suit lol Have your coffee, I wanna know this joke :D

Hey , thanks for sharing your garden with us. I planted trees for a living planting 100s a day and I continued on my acreage planting a multitude of trees and now I am receiving some of the fruits of my labor which makes it all worth while!

That's awesome! My husband was also a tree planter. I think it was part of being a forestry technician. He would tell me stories of how bad the bugs were and that some people just couldn't stand it and left.

Hat's off to you as you are a true warrior against the masses of the bugs and a warrior for the earth to have planted so many trees!

This sounds like a day over here. There are so many misquitoes that it is hard to get things done outside. I am trying to figure out how to make a mosquito suit so i can continue my work outside. They seem to swarm my face the most.

Your garden looks great. Most people only need one squash and zucchini plant. Unless you are saving for the winter.

At least Frankie ran into the house and not down the street. Smart girl to go inside and not be bitten.

Yep the face is where it's sweetest I am guessing lol.

The zucchini is what I am hoping to get the most of. I am saving for winter for the family, learning on how much I need, but I am also needing it for baking. People love my zucchini bread here so I am thinking I need twice the amount.

She is smart indeed. She is very wise and even though she still has some baby talk still she knows how to express herself in ways that we understand and she has a lot of independent skills. I could write so much about her but that itself would be another post :D

Zucchini bread, that sounds delicious, have you done a post on it? I would love the recipie.
I planted so many zucchini plants this year I hope I am over run. That is always a fun thing to have happen.

I have heard many of the children are wise. They seem to be coming in with such great knowledge already. This is good. We need a wise generation to assist. Maybe she will be one of these kids.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

I'd love some purple on that statue? Purple is still closer to black. ;) ^^

A dark purple, hmmmm. I like dark purples. Something about it that can drag someone in to a deep dark spacious thought. :)

Yes, dark purple would do the trick! Show it to me when it's done would love to see it!

If ever I get the time. I have to sand her down, feeling off old paint and then repaint her white again. Today is a rainy day. Wont be possible for me to start for another week it would seem :(

Take your time Foxy. You also have other things on your plate. ^^ I'm glad that we can connect once in a while. :) xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28