It's that time of year!

in #plants6 years ago

It’s finally that time of year again! I’m hoping for an early spring as well ;) Decided to start some seeds today. Specifically perennial flowers. As I am trying to create diversity and sustainability on my small property. Flowers have many different functions in the garden, a few being attracting beneficial insects such as bees and butterflies, habitat for beneficial predators and medicinal uses. Being perennial in my area also means I won’t have to replant each season.

The varieties I chose:

Lavender (Dwarf Munstead)
I’ve had success starting these indoors and transplanting outdoors. Actually there are several plants still going after 2 years. Very long germination 20-50 days and can benefit from stratification. Lovely aroma that tickles the nose when you walk by.

SAM_2427.JPG

Echinacea (Purple Coneflower)
One of my favorites. After a year or two these will grow to 2-3 feet with plenty of blooms that make for great cut flowers. Make sure of where you plant them as they tend to take up a lot of space when in bloom.

SAM_2428.JPG

Rudbeckia (Goldstrum)
Nice thin stalks with hordes of bright yellow flowers. Tend to make you smile when you look at them. Just like sunflowers :) Haven’t had the best success with germination indoors. Could be old seed or temperature.

SAM_2423.JPG

Cerastium (Snow in Summer)
First saw these when I visited a local botanical garden. You could see and hear the bee activity. I have not planted these in the garden yet.

SAM_2426.JPG

Looking forward to seeing these pop up in a couple weeks and I will post an update. Do you have any experience with perennials? What are your favorites?

Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80