Peaceful Pacifico / Beach Clean-Up with the Sun Crew!

in #plastic6 years ago (edited)

So much plastic on the beach... but also so much fun on the beach! I want to share my experience of making the beach a happier, less-littered place, while singing and laughing with an amazing group :)

From the beginning... peace in Pacifico


I just stayed for almost a week in Pacifico which is on the island of Siargao (pronounced like “share-go”). We easily came to love this small beach town, which offered us relaxed days, surfing lessons, and such a sweet sense of community. We were going to leave sooner, but it was so good there... We made friends with locals and foreigners who live their lives in this little town where you can walk at a lazy stroll from one end to the other in about 10 minutes. With no cell service, the way to meet up is just to walk down the street and find your friends.

It seems no one wants to leave this easeful island vibe and lifestyle... We didn’t! When we were getting ready to leave, we were often asked “why?” At some point you have to move on, I suppose... but Pacifico is currently at the top of my list of places I’ve explored in the Philippines (and in the world) where I would return and spend more time.

During my week in Pacifico...


I learned to surf, rode some waves, wrote poetry, made friends, sang kareoke, danced in heavy rain at a local disco, ate amazing vegan food, swam in the ocean, and played ukulele on the beach (a lot).

But one of the most memorable highlights of my time there was on Saturday (my last full day in Pacifico) when I got to hang out with the Sun Crew and help with their weekly beach clean-up!

70262594-3CF6-4087-9750-7C3AEC5C3CFF.jpeg
Action photo taken by May Ann Malaza of the Sun Crew

Sun Crew is a local organization that supports local kids in making the most of themselves and their lives; emphasizing the importance of education and environmental awareness - balanced by surfing, of course! ;) I recommend reading their website, it’s inspiring: www.thesuncrew.com

Saturday afternoon I was walking through town (down the one main road) with my uke, practicing Three Little Birds by Bob Marley, which I’d just learned. As I neared Wemar’s Surf Shop, laughter filled the air and I came up to a dozen or so kids of varying ages laughing and giggling while they chattered away happily.

The older kids were sort of rallying the group and when I asked them what they were all doing they said “Beach clean-up! Want to come?” To which I said, YES! - I had been looking forward to this for a few days since I had heard of this Sun Crew a few days before from one of its local founders.

And so we went off down the road, the kids and I, singing “don’t worry about a thing!” together, while we collected pieces of plastic we saw. On the beach there was everything from plastic toothbrushes to plastic dinosaurs & Mickey Mouse toys... some of the kids gave these to me and I now have some sweet souvenirs :)

Bitter Sweet


It was a bit sad to see all this plastic trash on the beach...

Where does all of this plastic come from?? I asked them.

Delivered from China, they said lightheartedly.

It can also come from neighboring islands, where open dump sites near beaches are prone to heavy rains, winds, storms or typhoons easily sweeping debris into the sea.

It was sometimes overwhelming for me to see so much waste washed up on an otherwise beautiful beach.

But the sweet innocence and reminder that, still, every little thing is gonna be alright was unforgettable.

Throughout this experience I kept thinking of these young minds being shaped through this practice... I imagine that they are so much less likely to litter, or use plastic in the first place. Seeing and feeling the impacts it has on their beaches, and actively doing something about it, makes a lasting impression. I know it has for me.

8C5F937D-C066-4F28-884D-82411742C001.jpeg
Group Photo taken by May Ann Malaza of the Sun Crew

Earth-care


Here in the Philippines, I have seen so much attention being brought to use of plastics, and actively combatting their use. Often no plastic straws are used at restaurants, and there are many water refill stations so people don’t have to keep buying bottled water in plastic - often with stickers reminding the importance of keeping plastic out of the oceans. I really appreciate this. My most constant companion on my travels and life journey is my water bottle, because hydration is so important to my well-being.


375CA6DF-7810-4958-8962-39C2271B681D.jpeg
My beloved water-carrying companion

I’m feeling exceedingly happy to be living this life. I have so much gratitude for this planet. What good fortune that I am here, that the dinosaurs were here before me, that all the past, present, and future exist, and that we all get to create positive impacts during this life!

*If you’re traveling to the Philippines/Siargao, check out Pacifico! If you want to book surfing lessons, island hopping tours, etc. you can support the Sun Crew - based out of Wemar’s Surf Shop, right next to Lolo’s Tacos (try the veggie taco & coco-bolas - they’re amazing!)

—-

I post my thoughts, feelings, paintings, poetry, and whatever else I feel like on steemit @em-blem :) follow me if you like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59