Another Heads-Up: @PlayDice status update

in #playdice25 days ago

@PlayDice (WAS) feeling a little under the weather

Some @playdice regulars may have noticed that payouts weren't happening for a few weeks. There's a long (technical) explanation, but in short: The STEEM APIs changed their rules so that I could only query the last 20 transactions at a time... this meant I had to either run the query every few minutes (and potentially still miss some transactions)... or I had to rework (rewrite actually) the existing code to process winners when payout occurred.

Success!!! (partially)

image.png

I managed to finish that code yesterday, and my local database got back into sync with all the winners' payout information... #SCORE 🤘 ... and then I started the arduous manual process of running the actual winnings payout script ... #SCORE2 🤘🤘

Speedbump

But then I hit a speedbump... All was running smoothly, albeit slowly and manual (because I was processing payouts for more than a month's games)... but then I hit a snag: I ran out of RCs (Resource credits to payout further winnings #FacePalm).

image.png

The solution:

Gonna wait a few days for RC to reach 50% RCs again and then I'm gonna process the other half of the payouts not yet done... and then everything will be back on track for regular posting & payout.

Bonus

It's a little technical (although if the API had even remote decent documentation and maintenance, it would have been a lot easier), but the code is now at a point where faults/timeouts are handled better, so there should be less of that... and more NB: In the event of "catastrophic failure" like we had with the last time and get out of sync, it will be a LOT easier to simply "replay" the entire blockchain from any particular transaction and stop at any arbitrary one (previously I needed to replay the whole lot starting from point X, or nothing at all :-( ...

Which brings me to the next point: If anyone reading this (all 3 of you) knows of anyone actively developing on the STEEM blockchain (and/or preferably a witness), please hook me up with an introduction. It seems STEEM is dead, and the chain is running on auto-pilot? I really hope this isn't the case :P

Anyway... enough rambling. I could have just said:

"@PlayDice is fixed, and it's gonna take a few days to catch up up to the current block"

... so I'll end with that ;-)

🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥 - 🔥

P.S. Keep an eye on my website https://braaiboy.co.za/

...and please also connect with me elsewhere on Social
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter / X: https://twitter.com/braaiboy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/braaiboy
TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@braaiboysa
YouTube: https://youtube.com/@BraaiBoy

Sort:  

Thanks for your efforts in getting everything in order again :)

... and thank YOU for checking in ;-)

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @upex with a 0.41% upvote. We invite you to continue producing quality content and join our Discord community here. Keep up the good work! #upex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82