Poetry Sunday - Nocturne: Battlefield Sonnet

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

I don't usually write introductions to my poems. I let them speak for themselves. In this case, I'll make an exception.

In 2004, I was a newspaper editor and National Guard officer with the 36th Infantry Division out of Texas, formerly the 49th Armored Division. My unit was activated late summer and we spent the rest of the year training and preparing for a mission to an unknown location. Toward the end of that training period, we were told we would be in Iraq. I spent all of 2005 at Al Taqqadum Air Base in the Al Anbar province.

Anyone familiar with the theater at that time knows that Al Anbar was the hotbed of the insurgency in 2005. Nevertheless, our unit was fortunate to be guarding high ground in the midst of this hotbed. While we encountered frequent rocket attacks, the casualties were few. My particular unit saw no combat casualties. Rather, we did see two unnecessary freak accidental deaths, one of them self-inflicted.

Let it be known: The Grim Reaper has many faces, and he walks down unusual paths.

The sonnet is not my ordinary form. In fact, I have no ordinary form as I do not see myself as a formulaic poet. However, I do experiment with new forms when I find them, and have been known to invent some. But I often write in a free verse style. In this case, this poem came to me in the middle of the night after I had returned home. I jotted down a few lines and completed the poem the next day. While keeping to the traditional style of the sonnet, I hope you'll recognize its retro tone. This is my "Ozymandias."


Image by Pexels on Pixabay.

      The night is beautiful, beautiful
with the raspy breath
of live fire. Explosive. Death
tastes sweet like black cherry, a spool

      of brut kisses, or crystal meth
with soda pop. Even a fool
can smell the pheromone of ferrous cool
in a coiled cloud. The smart head of Seth

      sits on a pedestal of bronze
beaming like a tributary to love.
Hands of steel firm a grip on time, a glove
fit to spark a light touch of fear upon

      us. In the end we're not near as mortal
as the eyes that peer back through that sad portal.

"Nocturne: Battlefield Sonnet" is a part of the Rumsfeld's Sandbox collection of poetry by yours truly.


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



Created and used by veterans with permission from @guiltyparties

Sort:  

Your poem gave me chills, I can almost smell it. Thank you for sharing it and I hope you're coping well with the memories..

Thank you. The memories are fine. Some fond ones. But it's been long enough that I don't have nightmares. Not that I ever did. A couple, I think. I actually had a rather "safe" assignment compared to some. At any rate, thanks for reading.

You are very blessed to have such an outlet and ability to express your feelings and thoughts this way.

Thank you. Been doing it all my life. :-)

Congratulations @blockurator! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I read it aloud... Very nice.

I love to hear poetry recited. Have you ever performed a piece of your work?

Yes. I used to read in public a lot. Much less these days as the grandchildren keep me busy, but I love to read out loud. Glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62