CHECKMATE- A POEM

in #poem6 years ago

@renny-krieger requested I write a poem in response to a poem he posted entitled Checkmate. @renny-krieger was inspired by @schamangerbert’s Steem Blitz Chess Tournament. Here is my poem.

CHECKMATE

The gauntlet was thrown down,
to defend the mighty crown.

I make my move,
confident I can’t lose.

I move a few of my pawns,
on the black and white lawn.

They’re strategically placed,
for my opponent to face.

Pawns are dependable,
yet expendable.

Next, I move my knight,
he is ready for a fight.

My moves appear as gentle waves,
but will knock his men into their graves.

Then I move up
one of my bishops.

This moved proved to be a blessing,
for my opponent found it distressing.

I allow him to take my rook,
my strategy he mistook.

I set the bait,
so, now I wait.

He didn’t see my scheme,
to take his queen!

A few more turns,
my opponent begins to burn,

as he learns his fate,
when I say checkmate!

Pictures in this post sourced from Pixabay.com


You might enjoy reading my poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL LIMERICK DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL EAT WHAT YOU WANT DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL SHRIMP DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL LOST SOCK MEMORIAL DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67