Life's Struggles

in #poem6 years ago

image
Source

I've been off a while, trying to figure out life, and while at that my pen has never stopped writing. It's been tough, but I'm certain I'll pull through.

Meanwhile, I wrote this and would appreciate opinion for my improvement.

The days are long, the nights even longer
I sit and stare, as the minutes make life shorter
I try to recall, how did it all get messier
The pains alone, a notch up craze to crazier.

I was a boy, exhuming enviable confidence
Too good in everything, indescribable in one sentence
Even the blind could picture a star using his senses
But now I couldn't see me great even with lenses.

The strain of life has zapped me deep
Nowhere to run, no strength to leap
Poor decisions from me slowly creep
Like a pager, all around me they beep.

I was on a platform, slowly climbing to the top
Stealthily learning, and growing like a crop
Alas, it was time to make that huge hop
Then came the missile, that caused my unruly drop.

It sucked every energy within me
And caused an eagle to be on its knee
Oh, a snake on its belle
Once in the eyes of the world, now no one sees.

These days, I struggle to live
Even people around me look-on in disbelief
My love for everything is on the dwindle
Redemption, please I need a sprinkle.

From many friends to absolutely none
Depression the closest to me but one
One day this would definitely end
A victory for me or tears for all.

©️ @herr.ekong

I'm definitely not giving up... I'll be back soon!

Sort:  

Good to have you back, bro. That's a lovely rendition. Captures a feeling that is kindred to any one who dared to dream and live life. Keep on keeping on. There's light at the end of the tunnel.

Thank you very much bro...Living life has always been the dream, and daring to achieve the key. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68