Away

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

I have the wings
but I cannot fly

When the stomach was empty
the winds were sharp and taut,
the heart throbbed
with the desire to gather food

I have taken the flight for sustenance I flew with the winds with birds

But the moment
the stomach was full
Wings grew flabby
the desire to fly dimmed

Now
the body has turned blue
as if the poison has entered the veins
It stinks now
the songs within have it's cadence

The will to go back to the nest
What wish
what longing
the new nest has entered my bones like mercury

Now Whenever the flock of birds flies over my head
winding its way to its home
a crane falls apart writhes in my chest

In the backyard of my house
when birds twitter in the evening
the ambers under my feet start emitting fire

I then
like the Ostrich ashamed over its feathers
Bury my head in the sand
mourn like penguins
beating its feathers on its stomach

I steer into dark nights
fire in the grave stuns and leads me astray
the roaring seas of the heart
pierce the splitting waves and surge
the voice of dead souls begin to reverberate

Before the nights prevail on the scene
when fire again hides in the graves
my heartbeat stops for a while

Then I think
why these souls are not at peace
when they are not blessed with salvation
what graves await them!

All of a sudden
in the dazzle of mercury lights
Like a traveller
I search the pockets of my present
and desperately try to board the departing train of time
I run frantically with all these feathers
I cannot fly


Join us on Discord: https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Sort:  

Good work @honeychum. I am being very inspired by every aspect of your country. I can see how it can be a great source of inspiration for yourself as well, and why your work is always very good quality. Lovely to be in India :)

Ohh you are here? That's great! Welcome and i believe you will go back with lovely experiences.

Yeah I am here. Only stayed in Dehli for one day on my way up to the mountains but we will be back there at some point, will let you know.

I have already made a video on my first week in India, we visited some projects in the slums. You can check it out here if you want:

Also, I wrote a post about it: https://steemit.com/travel/@astralaglae/slum-pirates-part-1

Nice to read your stuff. Stay safe. X

A beautiful and poignant poem, @honeychum. Full of truth.

Sorry Honeychum, i have the wings and somehow i can manage my flyings

Fly then! :)

Yes, i will. And your poem is good afterall

yes, everything i post is written by me only. :)

Wow. How did you become such a beautiful poet? Also, I will DM you to ask about a couple other things as well. See you soon.

:) Sure buddy, anytime :)

Thanks my dear friend. :)

I felt with you through this passionate poem of yours. The message is well convey through the poetic devices employed.

Thanks for feeling the soul of the poem brother :) I appreciate your feedback. @adeyemidrey

If you have time, you can check my work. I write poem

So deep..Let's all make hay while the sun shines. Nice one @honeychum.

This post has received a 7.14 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @honeychum.

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

rocky1 payout in the amount of $48 STU, $84 USD.
booster payout in the amount of $14 STU, $25 USD.
hottopic payout in the amount of $1 STU, $1 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $63 STU, $110 USD before curation, with approx. $16 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @honeychum and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65