Young Africa's Plea

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

images.jpg


Young Africa's Plea

Don't preserve my customs
At some fine curios
To suit some white historian's taste
There's nothing artificial
That beats the natural way
In culture and ideals of life.

Let me play with the whiteman's ways
Let me walk with a blackman's brains
Let my affairs themselves sort out.

Then in sweet rebirth
I'll rise a better man
Not ashamed to face the world.
Those who doubt my talents
In secret fear my strength
They know I am no less a man.

Let them bury their prejudice,
Let's them show their noble sides,
Let me have untrammelled growth,
My Friends will never know regret
And I, I never once forget.

By Dennis Osadebay

Sort:  

Dear friend! Next time also use #wafrica and follow @wafrica to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73