THE TERRORS THAT BREED ON OUR WATCH

in #poem5 years ago (edited)


Street Children



THE TERRORS THAT BREED ON OUR WATCH



They increase in number with each passing day and so does their troubles.
Under our watchful eyes, our fears and terrors breed as many of the kids that once appeared on our streets, living homeless and harmless, have now grown to become terrors, haunting us day and night.


Unlike kids today,
I was privileged as a child.
I wasn’t Homeless and tattered
I was clothed and sheltered.
I wasn’t Hungry and unkept
I was fed and catered for.


I wasn’t ill exposed or unruly
I was innocent and well-behaved.
I wasn’t rough and hardened
I was tender and meek
I was wild and untamed
I was bold and gentle.


I wasn’t desperate to survive
I was lively and living
I wasn’t surviving on my own
I was cared for by my guardians
I wasn’t wild and free
I was disciplined and happy.


I wasn’t forged on the streets
I was groomed at home.
I wasn’t neglected
I was embraced.


Bring back those days where our streets were free, where children lived in homes with great love and care. What happened to the privileges that once existed for all? What happened to the rights of these children on the street? What happened to humanity and the institutions we put in place?

For those we neglect today, become our terrors tomorrow and instruments for the enemies of peace, who take advantage of them. For inhuman, they gradually become and a menace to the society at large.

Reach out and help a homeless child if you can, for one who is deprived of love and care today may rob us of our peace and lives tomorrow.



Cropped Image: Source


@nicewoody69 Writes

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nicewoody69 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations🎉, You received a upvote👍 from CryptoBloggers
CryptoBloggers is the junction of cryptoblogging platforms. We created tools for each platform that help users to a better experience with the blogging platform. This bot is part of our tools. you can use our bot by joining our server and send this command $upvote YOUR-POST-LINK and you will receive upvote on your post.
👉 Delegate to Our Bot 👈
1 SP5 SP10 SP50 SP100 SPCustom SP
Join our Discord Server 👉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64