Storm Coming

in #poem5 years ago

You galloped across the Badlands of my inner
enough to make me go outer
for the first time

Outside there were storm clouds
and fireflies
and men with beards
that bristled against my soft skin
as they scoured with soft hands
against my hard heart

Inside there was lightning
and sometimes rain
sometimes solar flares

Sometimes a kiss means nothing more than
“I like the way you look”
But if I wasn’t on the receiving end of lips
it meant
“I like the way you listen”

It meant
“I think you may match the criteria
for what I’ve been taught about love

Let's join lips and hands and hips
and if you know how to--
souls”

But no one knew how to
You can’t teach an old dog new tricks
or how to wash the dishes
Let alone, how to hold lightning
in a jar

The dishes piled high like your pride in the sink.

You galloped across the mesa on my trusty steed
leaving me to guess at the logistics
of riding a daddy long legs to work

Sometimes a kiss meant
“I like your lightning,
I see it matches my thunder”

Always, it meant
there was a storm coming

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

That is a beautiful poem, I presume you wrote it. It really evoked some deep feelings. Very thought provoking.

Nice written my friend .

Posted using Partiko Android

That was deep! You wrote an amazing piece of art, I guess poem is creative work of art.
Keep flourishing

Posted using Partiko Android

No long drawn out comment for this one :) Very nice!

Such a good read! More of this.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77