WOES OF A LASTBORN

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1519456561965.jpg Source

Expectations. Pressure. Overprotectiveness.

Every lastborn or youngest child could relate. They say lastborns are the luckiest for they are able to get whatever they want. However, even the luckiest ones have their downside.

Expectations. Pressure. Overprotectiveness.

Lastborns are expected to be the greatest. They are the ones who are expected to be the trophy of the family. The ones who deserve to be bragged about by their parents. They also are expected to live the dreams of their parents.

Expectations. Pressure. Overprotectiveness.

Because of these expectations, lastborns are pressured. They must achieve what they are supposed to achieve. They must do this, do that. Don't we have our freedom? Can we do this? Do that? No.

Expectations. Pressure. Overprotectiveness.

"Don't do that. You might get hurt." "No. You're too young to do that." Can I not make mistakes? If I'm too young, then when will I be old enough? 30s? 40s? I have to live my life. MY OWN LIFE. The way I want it to be. Trust me. You have raised me well, you don't have to constantly worry about me.

Expectations. Pressure. Overprotectiveness.

I hope one day this shall end.

-lastborn

Thank you for reading!
By the way, my name is Chin. I am using @cinderz "proxy account" @proxyaccount. @cinderz is my sister in law. She asked me to use her "proxy account" if I wanted to earn and also see for myself what is this steemit community is all about. Since I also like blogging, I grabbed the opportunity. I also want to learn what kind of social media it is that offers lots of opportunities. Since I am still busy with my studies and can't focus yet on blogging I prefer to have her proxy account to use it if I have wonderful and useful stuff to share in this community and experience this platform. Once again I am Chin a student from the Social Sciences in a university here in Davao, currently using @proxyaccount.
Thank you and Have a nice day ahead.. See you around.

DQmWXfdwqi361v37zXtHCVpEUUfH1aDDD11rkjHSyjGQqXy_1680x8400 (1).png

Sort:  

hey there. I am 43 now and still face the same, but i think it matters more how u deal with it.. I try not to let it get to me.. all the pressure and stress. :)

Thanks Intsik for dropping by 😍.. You're so nice talaga

Your words touvhed me maybe because I'm a mother myself, this scream of a child who needs to be finally heard by his parents! I wouldn't want to be this ''deaf'' parent, this kind of posts help us to stop and think about our own children, - don't they feel the same way, do I give enough freedom to my children? Freedom to find themselves!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @proxyaccount! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @proxyaccount! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @proxyaccount! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @proxyaccount! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75