The Road Not Taken by R. Frost

in #poem6 years ago

Image Source | Photo Owner


“The Road Not Taken”

by Robert Frost (1874-1963)

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Poem Source


Background of the poem.

Written by legendary author R Frost which he created around 1915-1916 and arguably one of the most popular poems in history. The last syllable of the 1st line rhymes with the last syllable of the 3rd and 4th, and the last syllable of a the 2nd line rhymes with the end of the syllable for the 5th line, a typical a-a-b-a-b patterned poem. This gives it a feeling of symmetry and in some ways a challenge to the creator of the poem in which he shows versatility of words usage and still maintaining the context and mood of the poem.

The poem despite its old age is quite well known as it is often read and studied in high schools or elementary schools for literature purposes as well as recited on graduations as a means of expression and advise in "Forging new Paths"


Meaning

The general consensus of the common people is that the poem was meant to express as a plight on individualism in a sense that we make a choice that greatly impacts our lives and then reliving that choice to think of what could have been, such as choosing one's leader or a choice of religion.

Others especially in commencement speeches in universities derives meaning on "Making a difference in the world" and that the path is hard but when you look back it is all made worthwhile.

Most importantly, when the author was asked on what it means he actually gave a very different take than what the world has interpreted. R. Frost has actually stated in old interviews that it was not as deep as what people had believed and it was a bit of a joke to his old friend who seemingly can't make a decision decisively. And that as soon as his friend has made his decision he almost always contemplates his decision shortly afterwards. The friend he was mentioning was his old friend Edward Thomas.


image source | Photo Owner


Commentary

This poem is very special to me. We studied this poem in grade-school ( called elementary from where I'm from ) but I've known the poem since I was 6. As a matter of fact I recited it on stage in front of hundreds of people. I recited it even before I knew what it really meant, even before I knew what stage fright is. I thank this poem and the others I've recited because these were my first introduction to literature and what led me to appreciate these types of arts. To seek the meaning behind them and their impact on culture and people.

The truth is I was taught the wrong meaning as well in school, even I interpreted it differently from what the author himself has described. Rather than a spite to his indecisive friend, I'd rather choose to interpret it with positivity and deep meaning to enrich my life with wisdom.

To make and choose a hard decision, to live by it and push on despite the roughness of the road. To choose the harder path, the narrow path even if less people takes it. To look back after a while and see that it was all worth it. And that the path I took made the world of difference.


Disclaimer
I own no rights to the poem nor the picture and have stated my sources.


Resources

Poem Source | Resource 2 | R Frost | Poem Meaning | Resource 4


Please support the arts, especially poetry as I fear it may be a dying breed in our culture.
-Sir. Picsalot

Sort:  

This is my favourite poem ever written. I loved reading about your personal connection with it! Thank you for sharing.

Hi @tamarajoy! Sorry for the late reply, glad to see someone notices my work. In a world were lots of raps consist of swearing (although not all) I do my best to rekindle the interest of people towards poems of old.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68