Nothing

in #poem5 years ago


By John_Ioannidis on pixabay.com


And then there was Nothing.

Had there ever been something?

So much pain, so much joy, the darkness, the light.

It had been real, but now?

There is Nothing.

We keep on and struggle, and build, and improve.

We fix and we break and forward we move.

Each day is a fight, is a win, is ... just lost?

We keep on just pushing, we know all the cost.

But do we really?

We work for the future, but then we arrive.

There is Nothing.

And we create what we think will endure after death.

And we build all these fleeting pleasures.

At night we awake, asking the universe "why?"

"Why do I keep running in circles?"

Then the universe shrugs and just turns away.

And leaves the darkness of night.

There is Nothing.

I see the void, I stare at it each day.

It's calling, just like they say.

And I know we can join it.

I know we can jump.

It is waiting for us.

The big Nothing.

Sort:  

Well written. Especially the way you worked in a reference to "the call of the void" at the end.

Look far enough forward and you'll see Nothing. When I look far enough behind, I see Nothing too. I'm a Nothing sandwich I guess. But there is a whole lot of Something right now, and that's what I'm trying to focus on.

We work for the future, but then we arrive.
There is Nothing.

This touches me in particular because it's particularly true for me. I've got problems remembering things. I can look forward to something , work toward it, all I want... but if it's an event or an experience, and it happens, and it's over, not even a couple of weeks later it will all be gone... unless some extremely formative or novel shit happened during that time.

I guess when you're bummed out about the future being Nothing, the best thing would do would be to concentrate on the present, which is definitely, absolutely, undeniably Something.

But what if the present sucks? Welp. 🤷

Maybe we should jump into the void after all

Congratulations @suesa-random! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60