Black-eyed Peas and Mustard Greens (a poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

E039422F-D339-4D66-8FD4-20BD196918BE.jpeg
Hey Steemians,
Before I moved to the borderlands, I grew up in North Georgia (cue dueling banjos). I don’t hold a lot of things from that period of my life dear, just the trees, and the things my grandmother taught me to cook. I wrote this a while back, in honor of the woman I’ve become.

Black-eyed Peas and Mustard Greens

Just a southern belle
All grown up
Yeah, it’s true,
She had it kind of rough.
She’s reach that point
Where she’s had enough.
She carries on through
Holding onto a bag of dreams,
But she brings forward tradition too
Like black eyed peas and mustard greens.
Just a southern belle,
But she sure as hell grew.
Just a southern belle,
But not the one you thought you knew.

By Abrigella
Photo is of me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63