Mother, Do You Love Me? (a poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

03518BA2-D915-4CE7-9C8A-C7ABBD53731B.jpeg

Mother, Do You Love Me?

You slipped the knife between my ribs
And twisted it,
Then you told me,
This is what love is.
No wonder I've got a fucked of vision
Of what a family should be
This is how you create a broken human being
Starting at the age of three
I watched as you cut
My heart into strips
Then you weaved it
into a wicker basket
To hold all the responsibilities
You shoved on to me
This is how you create a broken human being
Starting at the age of three.
I've spent the rest of my life
Investing in toxic things
Because the love you gave
Only poisoned me.
I wonder if you killed
All the goodness you promised me?
This is how you create a broken human being
Starting at the age of three.
You kept coming back
Just to re-abandon me
When the world got too hard
For you to like what you see
One of the many traits
You tried to passed down to me
This is how you create a broken human being
Starting at the age of three.
I'd do anything
To make you unfeel the way that you do
So much so
That I took how you were feeling
Out on me
It's taken nearly 30 years to realize
That doesn't do anything.
This is how you create a broken human being
Starting at the age of three.

By Abrigella
Picture: my largest tiny human and I

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71