Emerging (1)

in #poetry6 years ago

montana-1829251__480.jpg
Source

Emerging
By Stephen Martin

(1)

The mountain bites the air
And bicycle tires emerge, everywhere,
The singing witches in the woods,
Call me back to childhood.

The stream split meadows,
Flanking my birth mound;
Your underworld of delight
Was festooned with the laughter of kids.

The mountain men that begat us
Left us after this small time.
Their young hands held ours;
During these moments we had dads.

They chased us through the mountains
And acted like monsters–lurking–
Howling from the trees.

We felt safe.

Mine left before yours, and was replaced
With the beguiler.


I am a student of and ambassador for #steemschools.

Learn about our mission Here.
Join us on Discord.

@dbartim thank you for creating #steemschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

I am a member of PoetsUnited. A community devoted to poetry. Join us.

Sort:  

I like the below line ..

The singing witches in the woods,
Call me back to childhood.

Thanks for letting me know. 😎

Awesome first line. I imagine the mountain, with peaks like teeth, chomping at the air. Figuratively, of course.

You couldn't have come up with a better line. The rest of the poem is good too.

Thank you. The line kind of came out and the rest just followed. Lol. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86