HAUNTED! A poem that touches the soul. Kill depression, and help the depressed!

in #poetry6 years ago

Hi guys, it's been a good day so far and I'll like to share with you poetic work written by a depressed person and also some useful tips in getting out of depression.

The poem is titled "HAUNTED."

I've lost my soul
In the depth of my thoughts
I am chained in a hole
With a great padlock.

image

credit

I can look but I don't see
and I can't swim this deep blue Sea.

I need'st must find my soul
And save my twitchy bones.
I am threatened with Oblivion
Since my muse is gone
I can't write my encounters
Without hurting myself.

How can no one notice
I am a dead man walking.
I can't even feel.
It seems everyone is blind
Or we're as well all trapped.

I've lost my soul
In the depth of my thoughts,
I am chained by the memories
That I'd forgot.
My deeds are haunting me
And I am become mine enemy.
I can't kill my guilt,
I can't clean my filth.
I only pray to be eased of this torment.

But before we go into that I would like to throw a little more light on what depression is. Most of us feel depression is when someone wears rags, frown around, doesn't greet anyone, has no friends, leads a boring life, looks boring, thinks boring and even have suicidal thoughts.

Although some of these symptoms appear to be true, depression goes far beyond all these. Most of the superstars we see on television shows, hear on the radio, view on social medias, and even read about in magazines are deeply depressed.

CAUSES OF DEPRESSION.

Depression starts small as does every tumour and cancer. Simple things like:

  • Disappointment from loved ones.
  • Failure to meet certain goals.
  • Peer pressure.
  • The thought of being alone or neglected ie. thinking no one cares.
  • Poverty
  • Setting way too high goals.
  • Acne
  • Always being shooshed or told to keep quiet.
  • The loss of a loved one
  • Addiction.
  • A broken marriage or relationship.

image

credit.

It is very important to note that most of the people who are depressed are achievers fact being that they believe there is nothing to lose so they gamble away everything and put all their time into their works.

WAYS OF HELPING DEPRESSED PEOPLE.

Although depression is a dangerous disease that can lead to suicidal thoughts and people giving up on life. It has also been noticed that people who come out of depression tend to become better persons. Because of their experience and their new way of appreciating life.
So here are some useful tips for helping people who are or might eventually become depressed ( this article is being written to ensure that a fewer number of folks end up on the depressed list).

  • Be supportive especially to those around you who feel less talented or don't fit in.
  • Ask about their day and even their health
  • Don't just visit when you need something
  • Make them feel Loved and special
  • Be close to those who have lost loved ones not only till the day of the burial but even till they grow old but mind you don't take the full role of that person it might spark an awkward suspicion(family is irreplaceable).
  • Help them find an hobby and build their talent.
  • Remember they always feel lonely, try to be lively.
  • Make them lively.

image

credit.

But most importantly make sure you don't throw someone into the pit of depression.
If you're not ready for a relationship don't dabble into it, Never make someone feel less or doubt him/herself.
Depression is a slow killer; it leaves yo dead while you still live.
Help a brother, help a sister today! show some love!

Authored by @ezunjoshy. Arranged and edited by @tezzmax.

Kindly vote @curie, @followbtcnews, @lukestokes, and @surpassinggoogle as a Steemit witness.

And a very big thank you to all the @africaunchained community authors.

Sort:  

This poem is actually a life saver......nice poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95