Over and Out

in #poetry6 years ago

221.jpg
Photo Credits: Lisotaur


Coyote 4 to Captain Red Dog
Permission to commence battalion coverage
Set the volumes high and listen closely
Charlie Team of barracks 21 is wiped, like dusts in the window

A bomb has dropped in the eastern wing
One hundred and two men dead in Sector 32
Open snipers locked at three and six o'clock
And I am dying with a carbine bullet in my liver

Captain, blood is gushing out wildly
Like the river that bulked our body and spirit with
'Tis might not be the time to get sentimental or gay you so-called
But I have dearly missed those joyful and peaceful days

My face is getting numb and my ears are deafened
Gunshots, chaos in the area and in my head
But all I can hear is our silent giggle, playing under the sun
Basking and training until the 16th hour of the day

That night, a camp fire was humbly kindled
Surrounded with camouflaged body of hope
You then uttered, "Take a single small step.
You will see your dreams and hope springing around"

You are indeed a man of valor and virtue
But I have deemed your order so spineless
I took not a single quiet step like you did
But a giant leap encompassing the dreams within me

I pushed my limits and exceeded my goals
Didn't look friendship, but rather brotherhood
Fought in front line and charged to the no man's land
Rummaged the sea of blood for my fallen comrades

I realized, Captain, that this is so futile
We are risking our lives to fight for something; peace? people?
Have you asked yourself what that something really is?
If you were to ask me, it is human's ego

No matter how many of our brothers fall
We will never have peace on our own
Wretched is the total core that resides inside
Absolute hatred is lurking within

So please, tell my mother not to cry
Captain, I have lived my life here in the battlefield
I will gladly die as the soldier you've raised to be
Please, I request, don't die a terrible death

Now, the time has come for me to say
Goodbye to the brothers and son I will leave
Footsteps are coming nearby, and I can't move
So this is Coyote 4, over and out



It's been so long since I last posted here in steemit. This time, I present to you a war-inspired poem :) I have always admired men in uniform, especially soldiers that fight for our protection and peace. Sometimes, we tend to forget our brothers that are in total danger just to protect us. We need to remember that they the heroes of our age. We should always be thankful for they are risking our lives for our own.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Yatogami from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80