POEM: I'm black.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I am black
And they call me dirty

I worship
And they call it fetish

I am big
And they call me fat

I am rich
But they claim I can't manage my own

I am slight
They say I'm starving

I'm beautiful
And they say I can't be intelligent
I can't be cute and brainy
A woman cannot have it all

Yet I rise
Through the myopia
Through fakeopia
I sing loudly
And I'm lousy

I represent a tribe
I stand for my kind
I support my race
I speak loudly
I scream even when it's not necessary

I am black
I am proud

I am Africa
I am African

I am Nkiru and Ahamefuna
I am Itoro and Ekpedeme
I am Bilia and Najatu
I am Adelaide and Bayo

I am Local
I am native
I am diverse
Complicated and compassionate

I am AFRICA
And AFRICA is a WOMAN!!
#WomanIsGold
#SayNoToRacism
#SayYesToBlack
#SayYesToAfrica

Sort:  

nics to meet u brother... check my post please

Very good poem
Upvoted and followed you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61390.40
ETH 2913.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64