Chester Bennington 1 Year of Death

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I can't explain how sad I still feel about the death of Chester. I just remember being 3 years old when Linkin Park released their first album. I grew up listening to their music and felt an adrenaline rush every time I heard Chester sing. Although, I didn't personally know him, I feel like I did know him by his struggles with depression. Mental illness is serious and most people don't realize that just because someone looks happy on the outside doesn't mean their happy within. I will forever remember you Chester and I am so glad that I had this opportunity to listen to your angelic voice. RIP Chester Bennington you will forever be missed!
rs_634x1024-170720110813-634-chester-Bennington-linkin-park_mh1532109727603.jpg
Here is a poem I wrote about my struggles with depression.

Fighting with the demon inside of me,
Why won't you leave?
Feeding on my emotions,
Feeding on my body, wishing it would leave.
Planting it's darkness,
Planting it's seeds,
Deep into my veins, leaving me miserable,
Dwelling on this feeling this is trivial,
There is a light to every tunnel I keep telling myself,
If only I can reach it Lord I need some help,
Seeing happy faces wanting to be someone else,
Help me fight this demon inside before it consumes my health.

Hello Steemit Fam!
Another day of poetry I hope you enjoyed my story and my poem. The poem I wrote today has been my everyday struggle with depression and just trying to figure out how to cope with it. I hope that everyone has a great weekend talk to you all next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alyssaluhun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56