War in my MindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry4 years ago

I never wanted to face
The soul inside of me
That gentle creature
Hiding inside a rigged exterior
That craved for warmth
Yet screamed they were on fire
Set ablaze to only cause others to run
Outdone in all efforts to please
Only to realize
that brought one down to their knees.
I plead,
Read me.
I am an open book
Yet I look blank
Covered in dust.
Millions of stories to tell
Yet misinterpreted so well.
I wonder if the tales of Old
Will continue to scare those who aren't bold.
Nevertheless, this quest cannot rest
Heavy eyes stumbling with chaotic distress.
If these pages fall out
And the cover wears thin
Let it not be from overuse of millions
But a special soul who tucked it deep within.


○●○●○●

The only solace: to curl up tightly
Since I can't let anyone else in
The fear of attachment
That leads to the fear of abandonment
Sinking one down into the deepest trenches
Drowning in a War I never chose to fight.
Forced into a battle many have to face
But that doesn't change my Fate.
I'm trying to be okay
But truthfully I sometimes wish to fade
In these bombs falling from the sky.
Sometimes I wish I was brave enough
To admit I want you by my side.
Do you see this war?
How much do you abhor
Of this madness I create
Or seem to...
Is it me?
All these tragedies?
Or just the mind of a victim
I don't wish to play.
These bones feel tired
Of playing soldier
But who else is there to be
If losing this shield crushes me?

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I do this post each week and choose some of the best under-rewarded content I can find on the blockchain. You might be featured next! Help me give you GREAT rewards, make sure you post with the #palnet and the #creativecoin tag or use the PALnet.io front end. If you do, you'll earn PALcoin AND Steem from @msp-curation, and will probably hit trending on PALnet.io. What are you waiting for? Get creating!

Isle of Write is a discord server full of awesome writers and resources- come check us out if you would like some feedback on your work prior to posting to steemit, or just a chance to chat with other writers!

I am honored! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56