Peace

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

images_8.jpeg

Image source

Knock Knock
"Who's there?"
"Peace", it answered
Sounded really unfamiliar
But I opened the door anyway

Draped in black
With the face of calm
And a body like mine
It was my shadow
My reflection, only better

It looked like my best day
Smiled like my birthday
Smelled like my breakfast
Waved like my favorite photo
And spoke in my favorite accent

It was both wild and wise
Turnt and civil
Hip and pop
Big and tight
Wavy and old school

It didn't have eyes
But I could see the calm in it's lack
It didn't have flesh
So it couldn't be broken skin deep
It was inhumanly human

It spoke with hoarse comfort
Held me preciously
Spoke my favorite things
Years turned to days
Pains turned to phase

We was Bonnie and Clyde
We was Romeo and Juliet
We was cookie and milk
We was Sunday and God
We was literally Sunday and God

We pulled up in a box
Dressed with three men by each side
Walked down the altar
Lay in front of a thousand people who came for the food
We was matrimony

We honeymooned between 6ft and earth
We lay still as the termites took away all that was human of me
I was no longer skin deep
I was no longer caged
I was free

We became one
One together forever
Unburdened and unbothered
Unfeeling and unfettered
Death was peace

Sort:  

@annieben, i have made this comment before in your post, and i am restating it: you write poetry in a way that makes me love poetry.

Some would write and I'll got completely lost. You are a genius. Peaceeeee!

I am blushing rainbow... Thanks deary

Hmmmmmm... Some deep words.

Death is indeed peace for those that have made peace with their creator.

@gee1 on my blog.....

💃 dancing shaku shaku

True. If we are not in good terms with our conscience as concerning meeting our creator. Death could never mean peace.

An inspirational one, friend.. I believe you are aiming to be like Wole Soyinka... Peace can sometimes be achieved when one is at peace with life challenges. Nice poetry @annieben

Nice, really nice. Well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77