Flowers and an Apology.

in #poetry6 years ago

pexels-photo-267360.jpeg

please accept these metaphorical flowers,
they're still flowers, i mean
they're a bit withered, a bit messed up
a bit too cliché for whatever this is,
but they're from me so...
what does it matter what i gift?

ah crap, the petals are falling off
words are spilling out faster than i can process
shit, i can't find a replacement in this exact moment
thoughts of you overwhelm me, this is a little embarrassing
damn, i stepped out of my line for the millionth time
i can't function properly when you're around
i keep messing up everything again and again,
im sorry for what i am.

I'm a poet, a poor excuse for an artistic thinker
that didnt even make sense, i just needed to get this out
I'm sorry for not being enough for you,
but its okay, right?
we're okay, i think, i hope
do the flowers help?
does this pathetic excuse for an apology work?
sigh, im sorry i suck
this started off as something cute that i wanted to write when you're asleep
as both a sincere apology for being so shitty
and also reassurance you have my everything

im falling asleep, is that why my feelings are jumbled?
but then again, this whole thing seems rushed so... frick it
you should know by now that I'm head over heels for you
and that you're everything to me,
and that I'll do anything to fix us back up if either of us mess up.

i love you so much,
please stay with me for another day?
I'll try to patch up your wounds before mine
I'll try to take it one step at a time
I'll try to be good and not fuck up like i do always
if only you'll still have me even through the rough days.

...... a smooth sea never made a skilled sailor, right ?

Sort:  

Man, I loved this. I felt like it was describing me perfectly. Both words and actions always seem to fall short in demonstrating the depth of what I feel. For me, this poem captured that situation masterfully. Nice write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59