Proud.

in #poetry6 years ago

pexels-photo-632629.jpeg

I am made from shattered pieces
I am built from broken parts
I have been slammed straight down
I have been ripped apart

The voice in my head corrupts me
It fills me up with inhumane thoughts
The demons in my body hurt me
And made me think that they can't be fought.

I have been through ups and downs
I have been through the thick and thin
I have hurt myself in many ways before
I used to think that no matter what, I can't win.

I've seen many things that I shouldn't have seen
I've done many things that I shouldn't have done
I used to cry my eyes out for ages
But… I also used to have fun.

Being depressed changed me in more ways than one
It ruined (then reformed) who I used to be
I used to be more ignorant
I used to be blind and not see

I also used to be happy-go-lucky
I used to live my life like nobody cared
I didn't use to feel anger and numbness
I didn't use to be scared

But now even with these happening
Even when I lose hope
I still bear these scars proudly
I'm not afraid to show how I cope

I point out my flaws
I show them my wounds
I laugh and I tell them
"I wont be gone so soon."

I am proud to be scarred
They strengthen my weaknesses
Depression showed me how reality is like
They showed me the meaning of 'worse'

I am proud
Because I am still standing.
I am proud
Because I'm still alive
I am proud
Because I lived through those hardships.

I am proud...
And you should be too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56