Toxic. (Part 2.)

in #poetry6 years ago

pexels-photo-673862.jpeg

heartbreaks,
headaches,
tears streaming down your face,
swollen eyes,
bleeding fists,
the breaking sounds of
empty alcohol bottles,
i wonder why you never left me.

I made sure to protect you the best I could.
I made sure to throw myself in front of whatever dangers that arose
So that you would be safe from the constant onslaught of your inner demons.

I didnt know that they would choose to attack me instead,
With you watching on the sidelines.
It hurt, yes
Yet i stayed
Because I thought it was just me.

"you're going to get hurt."
i warned you.
you deserved better, you did.
you tried your best, but did i?
i was drowning,
you were drowning with me,
and you deserved to swim.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58