You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Storms of Venus

in #poetry5 years ago

This poem made me wonder: what if we could return at will to moments of the past, to witness/share them from our past selves, without them sensing us, how many could resist the temptation - and how many would find those first beautiful moments of love reigniting the fires inside us?

On the darker side, I believe many would devote too much time to those bitter, tortured moments we wish to forget.

Sort:  

These kinds of musings you're describing are the very thing that prompted my first novel, A Familiar Rain, which actually took twenty years to write - it was simmering inside me that long - my wife typed the first draft and then it sat in a file cabinet where I taught - I was obsessed with an incident recounted by Wilder Penfield, the famous Canadian brain surgeon who had performed open brain surgery on a woman and his probe accidentally touched a part of her brain that caused her to relive a moment from her past. Meditating on the consequences of that resulted in the book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86