Thoughts on a train: a poem

in #poetry6 years ago

thoughts on a train...

i feel as though i am just coming out of the wood-work of a wretched labyrinth of thorny entanglement,
that has released from its viny clutches very few survivors.
the only wounds i carry are places where the thorns penetrated,
scars; beautiful reminders of my ability to heal.
a child once again, open-eyed and in awe of the world.
everything is beautiful.
my heart has retired from its perpetual ache,
it's no longer asthmatic,
but rather it's taking in huge cotton-candy flavored oxygen-enriched breaths.
i feel like a flower that has blossomed out of the blackened soil of a clear-cut, slashed and burned forest, pungent with medicinal properties the world has been ailing for.

and so it begins...

(written on a train in december 2007)

Sort:  

I hope ten years later you still feel like you describe in the second part of the text!
Thanks of sharing your thoughts and write down it.

@sanchez.gomez70 I do. It’s funny, this poem resonates with me even more now, than it did when I wrote it. In the past 10 years I came across some even bigger thorns, but those wounds too are healed. 😉 Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63