CONNECTIONS / Black Out Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago

As I was working on my recent dot to dot designs I recalled the black out poems I had been doing. To a large degree a black out poem is a dot to dot design. Here is a black out poem I created called INDIA.

WHAT IS A BLACKOUT POEM?
A blackout poem is when a poet marks out established text– like in a newspaper– and starts redacting words until a poem is formed. One interesting feature of a blackout poem is that the text AND redacted text create not only a poem, but also a work of visual art.

523A31BF-6F59-49E5-91D6-60887E556550.jpeg

4612F082-5DB1-4478-927F-A74F47EE8F7E.jpeg

Here is the text I used for this poem.
To see more of my work click @beginningtoend

logo 2.jpg

Sort:  

I'm trying to play catch up with everyone and I'm not disspointed seeing this. What an really amazing idea, black out poetry. I really like this, it'd be a great way to inspire some artwork as well for anyone not feeling inspired.

Glad you enjoyed it, when I first started posting on steemit all I did was poetry.

Somehow I have overlooked you :) I really like these graphic poems.

Unless you actively pursue new people it’s easy to get in a rut. I’m that way most of the time, just happened to see you because @donnadavisart resteemed it. Followed you as a result.

Yes, we can't always be all over the place, but it's a good thing when you see that Steemit is more than bots, so I follow you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99