You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scar Tissue

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Beautiful lines in this!

"but even that would be my undoing,
a death to all that is warm and flowing within,
as I take up that frozen mantle..."

"Happiness.
Such a fragile word,
such a fragile armour."

are two of my favorites.

And of course: "This is my first chance.
And my last."

Such a powerful ending. That place where internal struggle seems hopeless, but on some level we know there has to be a away...

Oh man, I know that place.

Loved this @geekorner, thanks :)

Sort:  

Wish I had any upvotes left...

I don't understand this having no upvotes left....?

Lolo I thought I didn't bc I upvoted something and didn't see the rewards go up... but just tried it on this post and saw that I still have two cents! :D

Well, you can always upvote for 0, like most minnows :D Anyway, it's the comments that really matter <3

I know... just trying to refrain long enough to recover some voting power ;)

Thank you for the kind words :) And yes, if there's one thing that I do aim for, unlike what I told @adamada, about the imagery coming naturally, so it is not a "skill", I do aim for the ending that is impactful. That sticks with you for a while.

And yes, it is all about the duality of hope, that ending. Just as the pieces touches on, exactly in the segments you pointed out, that in joy might come our undoing, and yet, we strive, for we can do nothing else.

"the duality of hope", yes. The thought that it would be easier to just give up, the inability to do so. The simultaneous possibility of healing or of further hurt...

Or that hope is both what frees you, and what damns you, when you try to learn on it.

:D yes, or that...

Again, that tightrope act: how to hope, without it becoming a crutch?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89