IF MONEY WERE NOT A PROBLEM // Steemit Original PoetrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry5 years ago

This Steemit Original Poetry is a response to fellow Steemian @drollspectator’s “All Play and No Work.” This piece poses one of the greatest existential questions we face -- if all of my financial needs were met, would I still find joy in the labor of work?


The poem begins:

If money were not problem
would I still work?
Or would I quit a job
and leave it with a smirk.

IF MONEY WERE NOT A PROBLEM...

I suspect I would become a kid again
Spending lavishly on yesteryear’s unbridled passions foretold
High hopes previously dashed by a small bill fold
I would wake up early eager to spend what is now my time
Maybe watch the sunrise
Instead of selling out for corporate dime

If money were not a problem, I could afford to dream beyond me
Hope higher for humanity
Because if money were not a problem
The next hope is to eliminate all need
From the neighbor to our brethren across the seas
No more dry lips yearning for drink
No more hungry mouths to feed

But who are we kidding
If money were not a problem
That must mean one thing
I am one small bite from the dust, at death’s doorstep
Where the greatest of riches means nothing

Thanks for the inspiration, @drollspector! I look forward to expand my creative work and look forward to collaborating with more Steemit artist in the (hopefully near!) future.

Love and Steem On, @betterbeing

Sort:  

Very nice, Something I think many of us wonder about from time to time.

Thanks, @jeremyrfk. Appreciate you visiting my blog and look forward to seeing more of your work.

Love posting in curie? ❤❤❤

Join the Curie Members Community on 1Ramp 👊

Congratulations @betterbeing! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @betterbeing! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @betterbeing! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73