Woman | Original Spoken Word & First DSound Work

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Womanhood is empowering, but is a constant journey of self-discovery and learning to oppose strict social ideas of how women should look and behave. I started this piece a few years ago, but have been inspired to revamp and share this work with the Steemit community.

Growing up as a tomboy, this journey took on a special shape. I hope this poem gives you insight into my story and also empowers you to stand firm in who you are as a woman.


tomboy (11).jpg
Photo Credit


If you’re anything like me you vividly remember that awkward stage in the process of becoming a “lady”
When your breast weren’t quite spherical
But a little more pointy


See, the boys would point at me
And at the same time I noticed
The boys could run faster than me, Had bigger muscles than me
And they didn’t hesitate to boast of how they one up’ed me


And although they were never be smarter than me
For the first time I feared that they could actually beat me
And I felt weak
And all I could think was
Please, tell me again why I would want to be a lady?


► Listen To The Rest On DSound

Thanks for listening and Steem On!

Sort:  

Oh. My. Goddess!

If you 're reading this post and haven't yet clicked on the link to listen in DSound, it's worth it — this is skilled spoken word with a powerful voice!

@betterbeing, you made me cry, but I'll thank you for it. What amazing words, so personal yet relatable, with an empowering twist at the end. I LOVE IT!!! Steem on, sister.

What a powerful performance. The poem is amazing to begin with, but this is such an amazing performance in the recitation. Your raw power and emotion come through so clearly. I am so glad you did dust this off and share it here, this needs to be heard! You made me tear up by the end, you just kept rolling and rolling and the energy was building up like a thundercloud and your last line just released it all with a crack of lightning.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Hi @carlgnash, thanks so much for the love and support on this piece. It's so encouraging and rewarding to see your work touch others.

I accept being added to the Author Showcase. I will be in touch with additional details for that submission on Discord.

Again, so grateful and excited!

This is awesome.

This is awesome.

I love this SOOO much.. so glad you and your wife have arrived. You deserve every upvote.. I WONDER do you know that you were curied yet?? hehehehe :P

This is awesome. That is all. Followed! Can’t wait for more. :)

Sincerely speaking, this is the best spoken word performance I have ever listened to. It gave me goose bumps at some point. The words were so powerful, i felt shiver run down my spine!

Great work @betterbeing, I feel like meeting you in person!

Thank you so much! I’m glad you were impacted by this. I hope to share more in the future!

You are so talented. Keep it up. You have so much amazing gifts and insights to share on this platform 💗

NICE

jempolll44.jpg

VOTE ME mrazi FRIEND

We have more in common than you might think. I’ve always been a Tomboy. The rich white man’s religion suppressed me as well. Just in a different way.

I wrote a book touching on matters around the feminine fold and I am pleased to have read this. Thanks for sharing. I will share the book on this platform soonest. Kindly follow back.

Amazing! Loved every second

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58