I do not want to knowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago


Graphics Source



I do not wish to know
that you knew,
when you first saw me,
that I was the one you wanted
to spend the rest of your life with.
Instant lovelust disintegrates
in the light
of every storm’s aftersun.



I do not wish to know
that my svelte form entrances you
or my fat figure promises
secrets and delights
to keep you occupied
for more years than you can dream of.
Breasts sag hips spread
backs bend fat turns rancid
in tune with time’s march.



I do not wish to know
that my face rivets you
eyes wide close large small
snub big thin long nose
narrow generous lips
framed by buttock long locks
or a shorn shiny scalp.
Faces spring from bottles and scalpels
and the smallest kiosk
stocks varieties of hair.



But I do need to know
that my sorrow and my laughter move you,
that my needs and independence don’t drown you,
that my mind attracts and repels you,
and that the state of my finances
is irrelevant to you.

Sort:  

The heart is such a dreamer. It want utopia while grieving. It rails against the star-y night and flowers in the sun. Hiding its hidden chambers aching for reprieve. What the hearts most desires is to know its fellows grief.

Created by commonlaw for bhop42moro Poem "I don't want to know! Called the steem of life.

A parody spinoff off of ancient Ubuntu philosophy. Man know thyself! Author Unknown.

Man - a pot full of perception and self-deception.

How well can one really know oneself?

The answer to the question is another question. I hate that. The truth is the question "How can he not?" is more fruitful. For me it means putting the horse before the cart. Mans perception are distracted by his emotions and is why the self deception. Mind over emotion clear's up the perceptions. The motivation for knowing oneself is to spend less time finding your loves.

bhop42moro (46) in all things you and I want. Knowing oneself leads to knowing what I wants. Mind over emotion leads to right actions that get you what you want. This is why the answer to this question "How well can one really know oneself?" is how bad do you want?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62