if it were up to mesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago


Image Source


if it were up to me
i’d take a bite, a single one,
a small one – a nibble actually.


i’d take it in and hold it for a moment.


i’d let its smell waft
through my mouth
through my nose
through my brain.


then i’d roll it around and around.


i’d let my tongue smear itself
with a slight glaze
or a heavy coating.


i’d then chew slowly,
thoroughly,
manufacturing a paste
that smoothly and sensuously
glides down my system
depositing only what’s needed
and disgorging the rest.


then i’d take another
tiny
or big bite
or not,
if it were up to me.



Photo by Oliver Roos on Unsplash

Sort:  

What a great photo, it could represent every choice I've ever had to make that had no clear answer in sight. "A tiny or big bite or not" fits it perfectly.

Thank you. I was lucky to find it on unsplash.com. I've found that one can trawl the free photo sites and not find anything that's exactly right, sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69321.61
ETH 3682.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29