When i was a child :Poem

in #poetry6 years ago


pixabay

When i was a child
Thieves were night raiders
Now they are day walkers
Collecting by day
And we run for cover
Adulthood has opened my eyes
It has ravished my innocence
With naked realities
And like a cold bath
On a harmattan morning
I shudder in fear
Is this another life
Is it the same country?
It feels different
Though the crib isn't remote
It all seem different
All these new knowledge
Are suffocating
Entrails of decadence
Assaulting my nostrils
I erefuse to breathe in
I try, but for how long?
The thirst for air wins
It flings my fingers away
From my nares
As i swallow in gulps
The rotten egg smell
Of this eerie life
That i must live

Sort:  

Beautiful poem. I really did enjoy reading your poem. Pls keep the good work up and don't give up even if u dont see immediate rewards.

Thanks for the sage words. I will continue and never give up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69084.83
ETH 3770.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52