A Poem - What My Heart Demands

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Every morning I wake up in hell
It's a strange experience
I feel like I am on fire
Surrounded by an inferno
Burning
But when I open my eyes
I am just on my room
This hellfire within me
Growing stronger
Not diminishing
Was born on the 6th of September
The day of my arrest

The trauma from that day
Caused me to suffer
Physiologically and psychologically
I had never had such trauma before
And after two months most symptoms were no more
Post traumatic growth had occurred
But the hellfire still remained

I realise now that the hellfire was not symptomatic
It's just me
It would be easier not to feel this way
But being a punching bag
Does not make you a good person
My heart will not stop burning in flames
Until I retaliate against my transgressors
With full force
This is what my heart desires
This is what my heart demands


@RiskDebonair
Irish Writer, Poet, & Lover

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78