MEMORIES

in #poetry6 years ago

images (11).jpg

The windows of my soul are open, they’re looking towards the light,
My footsteps come nearer to the future, my shadow is in the past,
The echoes in my soul are deeply etched like carving in wood,
Boxes of sights, sounds, could’s, should’s and woulds’.

The mirror before me welcomes me without arms,
I stare at a reflection that looks like somebody that used to be me,
The apparition stares back at me like I interrupted a serious proceeding,
My mind races back and forth like a train, undecided on its track.

People littered everywhere like scraps and pieces of disposed clothings,
Opinions hanging in the air like black balloons of death,
Incidents worth happening and not, daring enough to show up,
Like haunted ghosts exorcised from their safest sanctuary.

Emotions, soft as foams on the sea, thick as the trunks of a tree,
Loud as the crashing of waves in the caves of my muddled mind,
Feelings of sweet, bitter, sour and water, come up like unwanted vomit,
I’m in my future but in my hands is a present and inside it is my past.

How hard can it be to just let go? How hard can it be to just not know
how hard it is to move on when your past is your lungs and you need to breath?
Do you not know that as terrible as the heart is, you love it because without it you can’t live?
Have you forgotten the taste of honey because of the sting of a bee?

The past is in the past, you tell me, how many nightmares from your childhood have escaped the prison of your head?
You tell me when you’ll forget true love’s first kiss,
You tell me how hard it is to move on when you know you can move on but it feels like divorce
And you hear the dead cold voice of vows reminding you of your unfaithfulness.

Leave my memories with me, they’re faithful than your cheating soul could ever dream to try.
They stick with me through thick and thin, like POP sticks to my skin,
They remind me of moments as dark as the day the night broke up with the moon,
They’re a treasure no chest can hold, but I’ll rather keep them than lose them to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78