A poem: of Honor and Love

in #poetry7 years ago

Hello again, Steemit. This is a bit of personal writing that I want to share with you all today.

broken-love-92-background-wallpaper.jpg

What can it be, that causes us to act so differently?
from who we are in reality, chasing things that gleam
in brilliant light, but do so distantly?

Years away I still feel you,
healing me, empowering me,
hurting me, cursing me.
Twisting this soul into monstrosity.

Like a blanket of icy dread,
Like a flow of magma, burning red,
My skin burns for real...
despite this being all in my head.

Honor is just a word, right?
no matter how hard you look, it's never really within your line of sight.
Love is just a willingness, to do what it takes to win at this...

Honor and Love, are why some of us live.
but when Honor pulls us to stay beside the one by which we lay
and Love tears us another way, far away and pulling.
Is there even a "right choice"
if both of them will silence your voice
Forever?


This is something I have had written down for a few years, I've tweaked it and cut some bits out that didn't fit.
If I can get just one person to feel a little better, or to relate to my writing then I have achieved my goal with this one.
Image credit: http://hdlovewall.com/broken-love-92-background-wallpaper.html

Steem on,
Broester.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66